Spiritualized®* ‎– Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space

Arista ‎– 07822-18974-2
CD, Album


1 Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space 3:40
2 Come Together 4:40
3 I Think I'm In Love 8:09
4 All Of My Thoughts 4:36
5 Stay With Me 5:08
6 Electricity 3:46
7 Home Of The Brave 2:22
8 The Individual 4:15
9 Broken Heart 6:38
10 No God Only Religion 4:21
11 Cool Waves 5:06
12 Cop Shoot Cop… 17:13



Recorded and mixed at Moles Studio - Bath, The Church, Rooster and The Strongroom Studios - London, House of Blues - Memphis, The Hit Factory - New York and A&M - Los Angeles.
Mastered at Whitfield Street Recording Studios

℗ & © 1997 Dedicated. Marketed, Manufactured and Distributed by Arista Records, Inc., a unit of BMG Entertainment. Printed in U.S.A.

The cover design is very slightly different from other releases in that it does not have the BP initials after the album title (neither does the US cassette). As with the US cassette release, the insert is notable for including a production credit for John Coxon for tracks 5 & 8 (J. Spaceman has sole production credits according to all other releases).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 7822-18974-2 6

Other Versions (5 of 22) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DEDCD 034 Spiritualized Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space(CD, Album) Dedicated DEDCD 034 UK 1997 Sell This Version
AVLP11, 88725464011 Spiritualized Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space(2xLP, Album, RE + CD, Album, RE) Art Vinyl, Dedicated, Sony Music UK AVLP11, 88725464011 UK 2012 Sell This Version
Plain150, P766613 Spiritualized®* Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space B P(2xLP, Album, RE, Ltd, Blu) Plain Recordings, Arista Plain150, P766613 US 2010 Sell This Version
07822-18974-2 Spiritualized®* Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space(CD, Album) Arista, Dedicated 07822-18974-2 Canada 1997 Sell This Version
00697-18974-2 Spiritualized Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space(CD, Album, Promo) Arista 00697-18974-2 US 1997 Sell This Version


Add Review



February 15, 2006
edited over 9 years ago

Let's get the façade thing out of the way.

The packaging of this album continues the modus operandi of Spacemen 3 leading into Spiritualized: "take drugs to make music for taking drugs." Of course this veers it more into the prescribed realm as oppose to taking medicinal matters into your own hands. But if you see this album as purely for its packaging, you are missing the point and the milestone.

Musically, this is a crossroads album. The overall tone is still neo-psychedelic and noise-based. And yet there is a slickness feel to it. There are horns and strings and the feel is like pop music of the 1960s. But there is definitely a contemporary feel in terms of the sounds and the way it is layered. It is almost like if Phil Spector were reproducing a Blur track that was originally produced by Stephen Street, which was based on a recording session with William Orbit at the helm. But furthermore, it shows a musical maturity of Jason Pierce (J. Spaceman) where he is no longer just regurgating old music. He is finally heading to make his own music. (Then came "Let It Come Down")

Lyrically, I always hear it as a breakup/breakup recovery album. The means to forget love's bittersweet taste is through, appropriately enough, drugs. The end is a strange headtrip where it goes into melancholy, deep depression, resolution, hyperactivity, rashness and back to melancholy. Musically it's a big moodswing as well but it's the lyrics that explains it. After all, you can draw all kinds of conclusions if the entire album were made like "The individual" and "No God only religion." It something that I knew would explain what was going on inside my head and heart whenever a relationship ended, especially one where I didn't think it would.

And I still croon with deep sadness to the last verse of "Cop shoot cop"