The Aphex Twin* ‎– Classics

Distance ‎– DIST 004 CD, Distance ‎– DIST004CD
CD, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Aphex Twin* Digeridoo 7:11
2 The Aphex Twin* Flaphead 7:00
3 The Aphex Twin* Phloam 5:33
4 The Aphex Twin* Isopropanol 6:23
5 The Aphex Twin* Polynomial-C 4:46
6 The Aphex Twin* Tamphex (Hedphuq Mix) 6:31
7 The Aphex Twin* Phlange Phace 5:22
8 The Aphex Twin* Dodeccaheedron 6:08
9 The Aphex Twin* Analogue Bubblebath 1 4:46
10 The Aphex Twin* Metapharstic 4:33
11 Mescalinum United We Have Arrived (Aphex Twin QQT Mix)
Remix – Aphex TwinWritten-By, Producer – The Mover
12 Mescalinum United We Have Arrived (Aphex Twin TTQ Mix)
Remix – Aphex TwinWritten-By, Producer – The Mover
13 The Aphex Twin* Digeridoo (Live In Cornwall, 1990) 6:21

Companies, etc.



All tracks written and produced by Richard D. James except 11/12 (original by Mescalinum United, written and produced by The Mover for Planet Core Productions - Acardipane/Acardipane - ℗ 1990 PCP)
Published by Chrysalis Music, except 11/12 (published by ICM/Hanseatic)
℗ 1992 R & S Records, except where noted. © 1995 R & S Records.

Made in Austria.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 3 512841 100421
  • Barcode (String): 3512841100421
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): DADC A0000018120-0101 51 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): DADC A0000018120-0101 51 A4
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): DADC A0000018120-0101 41 A6
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L551
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 94V2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 94X7
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 94W3
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 94D8
  • Rights Society: SACEM

Other Versions (5 of 20) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
RS 95035 X, RS 95035 The Aphex Twin* Classics(2xLP, Comp, Ltd, Aqu) R & S Records, R & S Records RS 95035 X, RS 95035 Belgium 1995 Sell This Version
PIASA 5 The Aphex Twin* Classics(CD, Comp, Unofficial) Not On Label (Aphex Twin) PIASA 5 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
PIASA 05 The Aphex Twin* Classics(CD, Comp) PIAS America PIASA 05 US 2002 Sell This Version
RS 95035 CD, 516.0035.020 The Aphex Twin* Classics(CD, Comp) R & S Records, Play It Again Sam [PIAS] RS 95035 CD, 516.0035.020 Europe 1995 Sell This Version
CVOS1014 The Aphex Twin* Classics(CD, Comp) Creative Vibes, R & S Records CVOS1014 Australia 1999 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 31, 2005
edited over 10 years ago

When I think of techno, I think of cheap cliches. Beats from the assembly line, pseudo-transcendental melodies, mainstream trash. Of course, not all techno works are bad and if I had to recommend one, I would recommend these early works from Richard D James. You will not find his chaotic and non-repetetive beats here, but nevertheless they are complex and intelligent. The melodies are sometimes disturbing like a horror film soundtrack, sometimes simply beautiful. And don't miss the powerful "We have arrived", this track should be labeled as "Industrial Dance Music".


May 2, 2003
This is a must have for industrial music fans, especially when your into techno music. The "We have arrived" remixes are a good show case of his ability to invent weird sounds, against all mainstream usage of 909, 808, m1 etc..