Madlib ‎– Shades Of Blue

Blue Note ‎– 7243 5 36447 1 0
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Introduction 0:33
A2 Slim's Return
Scratches [Cuts] – DJ Lord SuchVibraphone – MadlibWritten-By – Monk Higgins
A3 Distant Land
Written-By – Donald Byrd
A4 Mystic Bounce
Written-By – Ronnie Foster
B1 Stormy
Drums – Otis Jackson Jr.Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes] – Joe McDuphreyFlute – James KingGuitar – Dan UbickOrgan – Morgan Adams IIIPercussion – Derek HolmanPerformer – Morgan Adams Quartet Plus TwoWritten-By – B. Buie*, J.R. Cobb*
B2 Blue Note Interlude 0:42
B3 Please Set Me At Ease
Rap [Featuring] – M.E.D.*Sounds [Beats], Scratches [Cuts] – MadlibVibraphone – Ahmad MillerWritten-By – A. Mizell*, L. Mizell*, R. Mizell*
B4 Funky Blue Note
Drums, Percussion – Malcom CattoElectric Bass [Electric Muffle Bass] – Monk HughesFlute – James KingGuitar – Dan UbickOrgan – Morgan Adams IIIPerformer – Morgan Adams Quartet Plus TwoSynthesizer [Arpstring Ensemble] – Derek HolmanWritten-By – Otis Jackson, Jr.*
B5 Alfred Lion Interlude 0:45
C1 Stepping Into Tomorrow
Written-By – Laurence Mizell*
C2 Andrew Hill Break
Written-By – Andrew Hill
C3 Montara
Scratches [Cuts] – DJ Lord SuchWritten-By, Other [Subliminal Vibez] – Bobby Hutcherson
D1 Song For My Father
Acoustic Bass [Acoustic Muffle Bass] – Jeff Jank, Monk HughesDrums – Lefty HoustonFeaturing – Sound DirectionsFlute – James KingGuitar – Dan UbickKeyboards, Organ – Joe McDuphreyPercussion – Malik FlavorsWritten-By – Horace Silver
D2 Footprints
Acoustic Bass – Monk HughesDrums – Joe Chambers, Otis Jackson Jr.Keyboards – Joe McDuphreyPercussion – Malik FlavorsPerformer – Yesterdays New QuintetVibraphone [Vibes] – Ahmad MillerWritten-By – Wayne Shorter
D3 Peace / Dolphin Dance
Bass – Russel JenkinsDrums – Otis Jackson Jr.Keyboards – Joe McDuphreyPerformer – Joe McDuphrey ExperienceWritten-By – H. Hancock*, H. Silver*
D4 Outro 0:15

Companies, etc.



Produced and arranged for Madlib Invazion.

"Peace / Dolphin Dance" performed live at the Lost Gates, CA.

Recorded and mixed at the Bomb Shelter, Los Angeles, CA. Mastered at Bionic, Los Angeles, CA.

Blue Note® is a registered trademark of Capitol Records, Inc. ℗ © Blue Note Records. Manufactured by Caroline Distribution, 104 W. 29th Street, New York, NY 10001. All rights reserved. Unauthorized duplication is a violation of applicable laws. Made in USA.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 243 5 36447 1 0
  • Barcode (String): 724353644710
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): BTE 36447-1A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): BTE 36447-1B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): BTE 36447-1C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): BTE 36447-1D

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7243 5 36447 2 7 Madlib Shades Of Blue(CD, Album, Jew) Blue Note 7243 5 36447 2 7 US 2003 Sell This Version
CD 7243 5 36447 2 7V Madlib Shades Of Blue(CD, Album, Promo) Blue Note CD 7243 5 36447 2 7V US 2003 Sell This Version
7243 5 36447 1 0 Madlib Shades Of Blue: Madlib Invades Blue Note(2xLP, Album, RP) Blue Note 7243 5 36447 1 0 US Unknown Sell This Version
TOCP-67079 Madlib Shades Of Blue(CD, Album, Jew) Blue Note TOCP-67079 Japan 2003 Sell This Version
7243 5 36447 1 0 Madlib Shades Of Blue(2xLP, Album, RE) Blue Note 7243 5 36447 1 0 Europe 2012 Sell This Version

Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



February 4, 2016

I have this specific record and it's exactly as the image you shared describes. Not a gatefold, just a sleeve roomy enough to hold both LPs without squishing them. In fact, I was looking at this just last night as I finally tore the plastic off of it. Hope this helps. I also did a little Googling and cannot find any evidence of a gatefold release of this. If you find one, please submit it. Hope this helps. :-)


October 15, 2015
PLEASE HELP (if you own this issue): it appears to me that there might be a gatefold issue of this based on this image can anyone who owns this issue confirm or deny? Thanks.


June 22, 2014
What about the sound of this edition? Is it a REAL ANALOG sound?


January 31, 2013

An excellent set of Hip Hop reworks of old, good Jazz from Blue Note Records. It sometimes contains some full jazz covers (The most clear example would be "Footprints") to fully Hip Hop remixes ("Please Set Me At Ease", Distand Land"); but it all comes down smoothly. You must hear this!