LFO ‎– Frequencies

Tommy Boy ‎– TBCD 1048, Warp Records ‎– TBCD 1048
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Intro 2:24
2 L.F.O.
Producer – Martin WilliamsWritten-By – Williams*
3 Simon From Sydney 5:05
4 Nurture 4:40
5 Freeze 3:56
6 We Are Back 4:45
7 Track 14 2:57
8 Tan Ta Ra 4:29
9 You Have To Understand 4:04
10 El Ef Oh! 3:49
11 Love Is The Message 3:45
12 Mentok 1 4:17
13 Think A Moment 3:27
14 Groovy Distortion 3:28

Companies, etc.



Licenced from Warp Records UK. Originally released as WARP 3.

The track order is slightly altered on the CD, but the back cover, disc, and booklet list the track order as it appears on the UK edition. “Track 14” has been moved from 14 (in the Warp version) to 7 (shifting the other tracks forward). “Groovy Distortion” ends up being the last track on the disc.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 016998104828
  • Matrix / Runout: WEA mfg. OLYPHANT Y11048 43 TBCD 1048-2 02

Other Versions (5 of 25) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WARP LP3 LFO Frequencies(LP, Album) Warp Records WARP LP3 UK 1991 Sell This Version
WARPCD 1073 LFO Frequencies(CD, Album) Indisc, Warp Records WARPCD 1073 Belgium 1991 Sell This Version
WARP CD3 LFO Frequencies(CD, Album, RP) Warp Records WARP CD3 UK Unknown Sell This Version
RTD 126.1228.1 LFO Frequencies(LP, Album) Rough Trade, Warp Records RTD 126.1228.1 Germany 1991 Sell This Version
WARP LP3 LFO Frequencies(LP, Album, W/Lbl) Warp Records WARP LP3 UK 1991 Sell This Version


Add Review



November 6, 2010

One of the most tremendous electronic albums ever made! 20 years since its release, it sounds fresh, unique, and unbelievable: just hear "L.F.O." for churning speaker-erupting bass wedded to sharp beats and mind-blowing chirps. "We Are Back" similarly explodes with distortion (or is it just so loud that mere home speakers cannot handle it?) and rapidly expanding synths. For that matter, "Love is the Message", "Mentok 1", and just about every other track on the album are classics too. Quite honestly, THIS is where 90's-era electronic music starts, and if history and influence are any guide, just may be where the music ends too.

**This is an album that sounds best on LOUD speakers.**