Propellerheads ‎– Decksandrumsandrockandroll

DreamWorks Records ‎– DRMD-50031
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Take California 7:21
2 Velvet Pants 5:46
3 Better? 2:03
4 360° (Oh Yeah?)
Featuring – De La SoulRecorded By – The Artist Formally Known As Prince*Recorded By [Assisted] – Dave Trump*Sounds [Additional Sk8ting] – Corrin*Written-By – Alex*, De La Soul
5 History Repeating
Engineer – Chris LawsonFeaturing – Shirley Bassey
6 Winning Style 5:58
7 Bang On! 5:44
8 A Number Of Microphones 0:45
9 On Her Majesty's Secret Service
Orchestrated By [Orchestral Arrangement] – David ArnoldRecorded By [Orchestra] – Geoff FosterWritten-By – John Barry
10 Bigger?
Guitar – Mike Thomas
11 Cominagetcha 7:02
12 Spybreak! 6:58
13 You Want It Back
Featuring – Jungle BrothersRecorded By – The Artist Formally Known As Prince*Recorded By [Assisted] – Dave Trump*Written-By – Alex*, Jungle Brothers

Companies, etc.



Released in a regular jewel case with clear tray.
New copies come in a shrinkwrap with on the front a black rectangular sticker stating:
History Repeating
Velvet Pants
Bang On!
Includes Exclusive Tracks
with De La Soul
and Jungle Brothers

Produced at The Würx (Bath), The Stix (somewhere near Bath), The Chapel (Lincolnshire) and Maison Rouge (London).
Mastered at The Exchange.
Tracks 1 to 2, 4 to 7, 10 to 12: Published by Chrysalis Music Ltd.
Tracks 3, 8: Published by Copyright Control.
Track 5: Contains a sample from 'Finders Keepers Song' courtesy of RM Films International Incorporated.
Track 9: Orchestra recorded at Air Lyndhurst. Published by EMI United Partnership Ltd.

Distributed by Universal Music & Distribution, Inc. © 1998 Propellerheads. ℗ 1998, 1997 Propellerheads
Made in U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 6 00445 00312 5
  • Barcode (Scanned): 600445003125
  • Matrix / Runout (Mirrored): DIDX-060363 1 A09
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant): MFG. BY MATSUSHITA UNIVERSAL MEDIA SERVICES DRMD50031 0664714148
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L322
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 501B
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 5016
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): ifpi 2A46
  • Rights Society: PRS
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 27) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WALL CD015 Propellerheads Decksandrumsandrockandroll(CD, Album) Wall Of Sound WALL CD015 UK 1998 Sell This Version
DRMC-50031 Propellerheads Decksandrumsandrockandroll(Cass, Album) DreamWorks Records DRMC-50031 US 1998 Sell This Version
DRMD-50031 Propellerheads Decksandrumsandrockandroll(CD, Album) DreamWorks Records DRMD-50031 Argentina 1998 Sell This Version
WALL CD015, 677.5015.20 Propellerheads Decksandrumsandrockandroll(CD, Album) Wall Of Sound, Play It Again Sam [PIAS] WALL CD015, 677.5015.20 Belgium 1998 Sell This Version
WALL CD015 Propellerheads Decksandrumsandrockandroll(CD, Album) Wall Of Sound WALL CD015 Australia 1998 Sell This Version


Add Review



March 8, 2009
This is one album which I feel never got the props it deserved. Often slept on by most, opting to listen to big beat's bigger stars (like Fatboy Slim or The Crystal Method) or becoming bored by the sound by the time the album was released, this duo may be remembered by most as a one hit wonder (or even a blip). Truth is Propellerheads are far from that. Songs are timed perfectly, never becomming redundant in their loops or beats, samples are never overused ad nauseum or mask the richness of the tracks. Each song stands on it's own, displaying a varied individuality, despite the persistant spy-soundtrack feel that the baselines and strings evoke. The only lull to me is "360 (Oh Yeah)", but it is still a nice downtempo groove to let you catch your breath before the drums start up again.
Unlike their peers, the Propellerheads fail to conjure a room full of sweaty jagger-filled frat boys playing playstation and instead delivers music steeped in rock, soul and funk traditions that can be grooved to on the most distinguishing of dancefloors.