ericmp3

DJ Jes - Los Sonidos Unidos as reviewed by ericmp3

February 5, 2016
vuela paloma is the jam on - this - one
musicmatic

Gyrator - I'm Not Hear To Pleez You as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
This is what to expect: Gyrator released nothing on his moniker since 2011 "Cabalistic Statistics". "Pleez" is another thing of strange sounds based on regular electro funk grooves with lot of vocoder sounds. Somehow something of the stuff works mysteriously, other might be sounding extremely odd or just falling apart without reason.
After all a 7.8 out of 10.
Expansive09

Exchange (3) - Into The Night as reviewed by Expansive09

February 5, 2016
This is what NEW AGE music should have become. Beautiful melodic electronic music with a focus on actual composition. Much of this music merges the then 80's digital fm synthesizer technology with sampling and analog synthesizer and done with bravado and taste. This is what happens when you get two amazingly talented musician/composers who understand technology and use is it as a paintbrush adding bold melodic brush strokes. There are no fillers here and one track in particular the final closing track Stonewalk has a very progress rock edge to it perhaps a tip of the hat to one of the bands former bands Canadian progressive rock group Klaatu. Recommended to anyone interested in non-dance non Tangerine Dream channeled electronic music!
CykoMF

The Fireballs - Groovy Motions / Goin' Away as reviewed by CykoMF

February 5, 2016
Great fuzzy psych vibe on Groovy Motions.
B side is a sleeper.
musicmatic

Dublicist - The Reptile Brain Sessions Vol 3 as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
Hm, Vol.3 turns out to be more interesting here and there than Vol.2, on the other hand 3 remixes of tracks from Vol.1 plus 5 new tracks is something inbetween. What is heavy dub sound with lot of more effects and delays than heavy dub sound with lot of effects and delays anyway? Almost the same. Let's say, if you like Vol.1 and Vol.2, Vol.3 is no bad choice. 8.0 out of 10.
musicmatic

Splicix - Shame Harbour as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
"Shame Harbour" by Splicix is almost okay as an ambiental downtempo album with nice grooves, sounds and vocals. Some of the tracks like "Good Time" or "Glam Rock" have some uplifting appearance while the main is just slow groovin by the sound, more or less friendly or absurd. "Death Is Not The End" is one of my favourites here, and overall a 6.7 is okay.
musicmatic

Daubenkötter - Put That In Your Smoke And Pipe It! as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
Short after "Obsolete" there is something like a twin album by Daubenkötter. But.. industrial sounds are on the loose now, the main focus lies on punk-funk-uptempo-grooves and sounds, less synthesizer, more funk guitars and funk basses. We have still slogans with silly vocal samples and long groove keeping beats by 130 bpm. Sometimes it works out very well like "Asshole Chicken Shit", "Laughter Mode" or "Boomstick", sometimes it gets stale fast like in "Who's With Me".
But overall, "Pipe" never gets weaker than "Obsolete", so a 8.0 out of 10 is fine.
musicmatic

Pegmayer - Brain Stuff What's The Trick as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
After "Chronomode", Pegmayer has a slight return with smooth, moldy house beats based on vintage drum boxes, few voice and synth samples while the tracks are just floating around. There is no uplifting or anti moment like on "Chronomode" anymore, just keeping and softly shifting patterns, sometimes disappearing in swamp of effects. Anyway "Brain Stuff" could be disturbing, but in the end it's a grower in ambient house stuff. And, if "Fun With Vintage" gets a little too offensive here, 12 minutes "The Long Run" keeps flowing down running down the aural drain.. 8.0 out of 10.
musicmatic

Conoclast - Nothing as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
It's the first album by Chunk Records that can be considered as "Industrial Ambient" only. Here are some accelerating piano chords, modified voice samples as in "Radio Drama" or industrial operating processes as in "Recorder", or long drones as in "Nightshift" or "Nothingness". Anyway, it does its work like it is, but here is nothing new or important that has been heard a few times before. So, a 5.5 out of 10 would be fair.
musicmatic

Daubenkötter - Some More Obsolete Jukeboxing Bullshit Routines, You Got That, Jerk!? Get Out Here as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
Daubenkötter is back. While "Schönheit" makes fun from advertising speeches, "Obsolete" is hard electronic uptempo industrial techno with flowing beats and vocal samples from somewhere and keeps flowing most of its running time. It's fun while it's running, has great beats and silly-simple sloganízing and all.. but the hunger for the ultimate remains. It's a 8.0 out of 10.
dave_disaster

Simon Snakke as reviewed by dave_disaster

February 5, 2016
No way is this Simon Snakke from The Jerks!!! ...
musicmatic

The 404's - Motor Skill as reviewed by musicmatic

February 5, 2016
edited about 1 hour ago
Actually one of the weakest albums by Chunk Records. Beside rhythms that turn out to be ok there is not so much interesting variety to the tracks. Ok title song "Motor Skill" has a great unexpected theme with recognition value, but what happens before? Some monothematic drum/bass/guitar tracks that will be forgotten very fast while it's ok while they are running.
A 5.5 out of 10 by me.
chuso12369

Sharon - Touch Me Baby (Special Disco Version) as reviewed by chuso12369

February 5, 2016
...in my collection!in my collection!in my collection!in my collection!in my collection:)
soulboy1975

James Brown & The J.B.'s - World Of Soul as reviewed by soulboy1975

February 5, 2016
Whoever is the culprit releasing these JB rarities and oddities, how about full length 'Get up offa that thing? I'd love to own this https://www.discogs.com/James-Brown-Get-Up-Offa-That-Thing-Release-The-Pressure/release/701990 but I can't justify spunkin the lolly... HELP!
chuso12369

Sharon - Touch Me Baby (Special Disco Version) as reviewed by chuso12369

February 5, 2016
Great Euro-Italo-Disco!,for always 80's,yeah!,incredible song from from Switzerland (fresh record company),chuso12369 from Spain.
hahahahahahaha

Various - Novi punk val 78-80 as reviewed by hahahahahahaha

February 5, 2016
Brilliant sound , great cover and best poster ever.
Recommended release
maroko

Ø Phase* - Module Overload as reviewed by maroko

February 5, 2016
Unquestionably, one of the finest pieces of wax I own, and one of those filthy misfits that fits the odd occasion, yet it's hard to pigeonhole or categorize.
The A1 of this record has one of the most stubborn loops I've ever stumbled upon, seconded only by Speak To Me by Regis. Wonderfully uneven, perfectly paced and, uhm, unevenly wonderful. The loop is as incessant as any you'll ever come across, and the shamanistic percussion does it justice.
The following tune revolves around razor sharp, ululating highs, that just descend upon the mystical percussion and cut the vastness of the audio field to shreds. It's like the A1 tune without the loop. As though all of its mighty percussive elements were compressed into three minutes and left with the unrewarding task of slicing ear lobes to beef jerky strips...

B1 is probably the reason why this record is as sought after as it is. A secret favorite by Jeff Mills, I remember scooping up a copy of this piece of wax as part of a random purchase spree after finding out that I'd had heard it dropped a few times. Ashley Burchett was hardly a house hold name back then.
Anyways, this tracks is beyond words. An absolutely relentless groove descends upon layers and layers of constantly shifting and altering percussion patterns. Total madness, it's as though the entire track changes focus, speed and flow every sixty seconds. As unpredictable as this record was when I first heard it sixteen years ago.

Which brings me to my conclusion. in 2000, this one sounded like it was beamed down from 2016.
In 2016, it sounds like it underwent time travel and arrived from 2000.
But then again, it sounds like someone in the far and away 2032 wanted to get all cocky and acquaint us with the cool sounds that are popular in their day and age, and teleported it back to us for our primitive pleasure.

Regardless, this piece of wax hinted at the immense talent that Phase is, and if you are slightly bit interested in his sound, I cannot stress just how much do you need to own this record. It's that good, and then some more, but I cannot elaborate upon that, because it just isn't possible to break down music brought to us from the future :-/
blackbookpress

2* Sweet - Sleep Without Dreams as reviewed by blackbookpress

February 5, 2016
Definitely a step up from their Burning Alive In The Prairie State EP. Better production, instrumentation and vocals. The album gets a little strange with a carnival like theme, similar to the artwork, but almost takes it too far, going into different vocal styles and voices, The album almost has a theatrical feel too it.
toyotaprius06

Bizzy Bone - Heaven'z Movie as reviewed by toyotaprius06

February 5, 2016
Wished for this album to be added to my collection, unfortunately I cant recommend it to those looking for audiophile sound. It has a underlying hiss that can out weigh the actual music when recorded to DSD. You would need a good setup to hear hifi sounds and how the album translates to underlying hiss. If anyone else can test that would be great, however, if you love Bizzy and bone as much as I do, then its a must buy anyway, just don't be disappointed in the sound quality.
toyotaprius06

Bone Thugs-N-Harmony - The Art Of War as reviewed by toyotaprius06

February 5, 2016
Times are off on the album tracks, for example Retaliation (Intro) "2:20" closer to "1:30"-- top vinyl was cut in corner for what its worth. Sound is fine for those looking to go to DSD. I had to raise the db level on my Korg 100r ADC to a crazy 13+db, still, while recording clipping still isn't occurring. Example is a Eminem Vinyl "the marshal matthers lp" set to 2.5+db during recording. Anyway if you want hifi dsd/dsf/dff this isn't terrible and will sound much better than compressed or even cd. I plan on reviewing all Hip Hop/Rap albums purchased for DSD purposes. In summary one of the cleanest hiss/pop free recordings that's dated.... Bizzy Bone Heavenz Movie promo lp for example has tons of low level audible noise similar release dates. Hope this helps Bone Fans!!!
FourDog

MF Doom - MM..Food as reviewed by FourDog

February 5, 2016
One Beer and Potholderz are swapped around on the actual vinyl, and it's a shitty remix version of Kookies... other than that it's fine.
soulboy1975

Vakula - You've Never Been To Konotop (Selected Works 2009​-​2012) as reviewed by soulboy1975

February 5, 2016
edited about 3 hours ago
Excellent LP, beautifully packaged as per usual by House Of Traps. I can't help thinking V may have misunderstood the meaning of 'skit' here. It's an Americanism usually referring to a comedic sketch or parody, commonly used in brackets like this on hip-hop albums. I think 'interlude' would work better. Of course, it doesn't matter, I am being quite pedantic here, also I might be very wrong! I don't speak Ukranian, so I have no clue what is being said on 'A Blyad Matrosi (Skit)'.
soulboy1975

Vakula & Kuniyuki* - Session North #1 / Passage To The Moon as reviewed by soulboy1975

February 5, 2016
Passage To The Moon (Kuniyuki Version) - that rollin funk, man! Addictive groove.
rjam

This Heat - Deceit as reviewed by rjam

February 5, 2016
Long awaited and well overdue remaster. What got off tape made it to the vinyl very well. A musthave if you love this band!
jasonhudson9

Pavement - Watery, Domestic as reviewed by jasonhudson9

February 5, 2016
One of the very best EPs of any era - worth every penny if you can get hold of it. "So mush style that it's wasted". Amazing.