808 State ‎– ex:el

ZTT ‎– 9031-73775-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 San Francisco 4:56
2 Spanish Heart
Lyrics By, Vocals – Bernard Sumner
3 Leo Leo 4:01
4 Qmart
Lyrics By, Vocals – Bjork Gudmundsdottir*
5 Nephatiti 4:49
6 Lift 5:12
7 Ooops
Lyrics By, Vocals – Bjork Gudmundsdottir*
8 Empire 4:20
9 In Yer Face 5:12
10 Cübik 3:18
11 Lambrusco Cowboy 4:05
12 Techno Bell 4:55
13 Olympic 4:21

Companies, etc.



Published by Perfect Songs Ltd. Spanish Heart published by Perfect Songs Ltd./Warner Chappell Music Ltd. Qmart/Ooops published by Perfect Songs Ltd./Second Wind Publishers. In Yer Face/Cübik/Olympic engineered at Square One.
Recorded at September to December 1990. Digital multitrack. Digitally mastered. Bjork of The Sugarcubes appears courtesy of One Little Indian Records.

Photographs From Optical 90 The Video. ℗ 1991 ZTT Records Ltd. except Cübik/Lambrusco Cowboy/Olympic ℗ 1990 ZTT Records Ltd. © 1991 ZTT Records Ltd. The copyright in this sound recording and artwork is owned by Warner Music UK Ltd. Made in Germany.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 9031-73775-2 0
  • Barcode (Scanned): 090317377520
  • Rights Society: Gema/Biem
  • Price Code (France): WE 833
  • Label Code: LC 4281
  • Matrix / Runout: 903173775-2 RSA
  • Other (Inner ring text): 12

Other Versions (5 of 34) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ZTT 103CDX, ZTT103CDX 808 State ex:el(CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp + Dlx, M/Print, Car) ZTT, ZTT ZTT 103CDX, ZTT103CDX UK 2008 Sell This Version
XECZ-1003-1004 808 State ex:el(CD, Album, RE, RM + CD, Comp + Dlx, Gat) ZTT XECZ-1003-1004 Japan 2008 Sell This Version
SALVOMDCD05, Element 02 808 State ex:el(CD, Album, RM + CD, Comp + Dlx, RE, Car) Salvo, ZTT SALVOMDCD05, Element 02 UK 2010 Sell This Version
MOVLP1615 808 State ex:el(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, Yel) Music On Vinyl, ZTT, Salvo MOVLP1615 Europe 2016 Sell This Version
9031-73774-4 808 State ex:el(Cass, Album) ZTT 9031-73774-4 Malaysia 1991 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 8, 2018

When 808 STATE toured the USA for this album, they headlined a sold out show at Dr.Winkie's venue CLUB DV8 in San Francisco's SOMA district-- what an incredible amazing night! For the encore a surprise appearance by BJORK to sing up front (resplendently dressed completely in white, her hypnotic movements at the mic were completely mesmerizing) a total and utter surprise to completely bring the house down! I was up in front of the stage, no more than a foot away from her.


August 10, 2010
Superb 91’ compilation album from 808 State showcasing all the remixes off some of their finest hits of the time. The elevator theme tune ‘Lift’ features in heavy and Original mixes (head for the original!), the classic 808 state themes ‘In Yer face’ and Cubik’ are included, and the haunting Icelandic collaboration ‘Ooops’ can also be found. Excellent summary of the single releases post-Newbuild 808 State.