A Guy Called Gerald ‎– Tronic Jazz The Berlin Sessions

Laboratory Instinct ‎– LI017CD
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 People Moover 5:06
2 Nuvo Alfa 5:39
3 Flutter 5:36
4 Iland 5:30
5 Just Soul
Vocals [Voiced By] – DJ Bone
6 The Dip 5:06
7 Round Eco 5:35
8 Dirty Trix 4:34
9 Wow Yheah 7:38
10 Indi Vibe 5:38
11 Pacific Samba 4:50
12 Conclusion F Min Blue 6:12
13 Merfed 6:17

Companies, etc.



(C) 2010 Laboratory Instinct GmbH
(P) 2010 Laboratory Instinct GmbH

Produced at The Diehold Studios
"Just Soul" voiced @ Subject Detroit
Mastered at Calix Mastering Studio Berlin
Under worldwide exlusive license courtesy of A Guy Called Gerald

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 8 80433 10142 6
  • Barcode: 880433101426
  • Matrix / Runout: www.handlewithcare.de LI017 AA99608-01
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L571
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 9710

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



September 11, 2011
edited over 2 years ago

Tronic Jazz The Berlin Sessions by AGCG should be placed alongside artist releases by Aril Brikha, Robert Hood, Kenny Larkin, Drexciya, B12, As One, The Black Dog, Steffan Roberts for quality techno albums. This is music that is pure electronic joy that brings funk-groovy & melodic like 90's inspired past techno to the modern now with a added futuristic edge that compliments everything in what makes techno music good. A good use of playfulness, funk, and deeper moods keep this album engaging with plenty of well composed melodies, sweeps, beats, rhythms and the occasional sublime yet subtle sounds of added hi-tech jazz; all showcasing a variety of musical directions in a minimal(sort of!)techno way. Each track manages to forms its own identity from moody to atmospheric, groovy to deep, uplifting to thoughful, and everything in-between that gives this album a varied approach but remains a focused listen that holds very well together - there's even a nice tribute to 808 States classic 'Pacific State' here too! Techno that staying firmly rooted with the more intelligent and creative side of Detroit and UK styled techno with a tribute to the past, and certainly will very much appeal to deeper music listeners within the techno field...A album that could very well become a classic in the future - as with Black Secret Technology!


July 30, 2010
Ninth album by Gerald Simpson on the label Laboratory Instinct, just four years after the release of the album "Proto Acid The Berlin Sessions" on the label. An artist steeped in music for quite some time, since the first album was born in 1989 Rham!.

A love story of the blow to the Englishman who is not his first master stroke. An album of 13 tracks that after the title of the album, should be rather quiet, soft music or jazz rather Electronics. Well, none of this, we are plunged into a rather dark techno at times tinged melody hovering.

In short, a style that immerses us in a room near Detroit Techno but both in the style of Cologne. Music that comes very well across borders, we can not really put a label on it, for your listening pleasure. For you to get an idea of what this little do you think, A Guy Called Gerald transports us without tiring the way forward for many varied musical.

At times dark, it quickly become joyful little before falling into an Acid House. Not the first album by Gerald Simpson, but if we must know well one, so start by this one before the first search.

And do not forget the first test sound "Proto Acid The Berlin Sessions" released in 2006.