A Perfect Circle ‎– Mer De Noms

Virgin ‎– 7243 8 49253 1 4
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Gatefold, 180 gram

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Hollow
Drums – Tim Alexander*
A2 Magdalena 4:04
A3 Rose
Arranged By [Strings] – Paz*
B1 Judith 4:05
B2 Orestes
Keyboards [Keys] – Billy*
B3 3 Libras
Viola – Luciano Lenchantin
C1 Sleeping Beauty (Extended Intro)
Bass – Paz*Guitar [End Lead Guitar] – Troy*
C2 Thomas
Percussion – Draven Godwin
C3 Renholdër
Engineer [Drums] – Alan MoulderLead Vocals, Piano – Billy*Percussion – Josh*Vocals – Kelli Shafer, Maynard*
D1 Thinking Of You
Guitar [End Lead Guitar] – Troy*
D2 Breña 4:04
D3 Over (Alt.)
Kalimba [Gord] – Maynard*Piano – Billy*

Companies, etc.


  • BassBilly* (tracks: A1 to B3, C2, D1, D2)
  • DrumsJosh* (tracks: A2 to D2)
  • Engineer [Drums]Frank Gryner, Critter* (tracks: A2 to B1, C1, C2, D1, D2)
  • Engineer, Music By, Lyrics By [Words]Billy*
  • GuitarBilly* (tracks: A1 to D2)
  • Lacquer Cut ByRM*
  • Lead VocalsMaynard* (tracks: A1 to C2, D1 to D3)
  • Mastered ByEddy Schreyer
  • Mixed ByAlan Moulder
  • Mixed By, ProducerBilly Howerdel
  • Music By, Lyrics By [Words]Maynard*
  • Programmed ByBilly* (tracks: A3, C2, D1)
  • ViolinPaz* (tracks: A3, B3, C3)
  • VocalsBilly* (tracks: A1, B1, B2, C2, D1, D2), Paz* (tracks: B1, B2, C3)


Tracks A2, C1, D1 mixed at The Mix Room, Burbank, CA. Tracks A1, A3, B1, B2, B3, C2, C3, D2, D3 mixed at Extasy Studios, North Hollywood, CA. Engineered at Perfect Circle Studios, North Hollywood, CA except as noted: Drums on tracks A1, B2, B3, C3, D2 recorded at The Chop Shop, Hollywood, CA; Drums on tracks A2, A3, B1, C1, C2, D1, D2 recorded at Sound City, Van Nuys, CA; Drums on track C3 recorded at Extasy Studios, North Hollywood, CA. Mastered at Oasis Mastering.

Billy Howerdel credited in full as Producer on back cover, but as Billy in the booklet.

Published by Transfixed Music/ASCAP and Harry Merkin Music/ASCAP.
℗&© 2000 Virgin Records America, Inc. Manufactured by Virgin Records America, Inc. Printed in the USA.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 2438-49253-1 4
  • Barcode (Scanned): 724384925314
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): S-65924 072438-49253-1-4-A G1 RM MASTERED BY CAPITOL
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): S-65925 072438-49253-1-4-B G1 RM MASTERED BY CAPITOL
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): S-65926 RE1 0724384925314-C G2 RM MASTERED BY CAPITOL
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): S-65927 RE1 0724384925314-D G2 RM MASTERED BY CAPITOL

Other Versions (5 of 37) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7243 8 49321 2 1 A Perfect Circle Mer De Noms(CD, Album) Virgin 7243 8 49321 2 1 US 2000 Sell This Version
VJCP-68221, 7243 8 49253 2 1 A Perfect Circle Mer De Noms(CD, Album) Virgin, Virgin VJCP-68221, 7243 8 49253 2 1 Japan 2000 Sell This Version
7243 8 49253 2 1, 7087 6 15706 2 5 A Perfect Circle Mer De Noms(CD, Album + CD, Ltd, Promo, Bes) Virgin, Virgin 7243 8 49253 2 1, 7087 6 15706 2 5 US 2000 Sell This Version
CDVIR (WF) 480 A Perfect Circle Mer De Noms(CD, Album) Virgin CDVIR (WF) 480 South Africa 2000 Sell This Version
VJCP-17546 A Perfect Circle Mer De Noms(CD, Album, Copy Prot., Promo, RE) EMI VJCP-17546 Japan 2004 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 22 Reviews

Add Review



March 20, 2019
I'm stunned by the comments on this release. I just picked this up today, opened it up straight away and put it on. My jaw was wide open, I'm not exaggerating that this is one of the best sounding records I own. It's incredible. I'm wondering if earlier pressings suffered from problems that have maybe been rectified. Either way I'm really impressed.


October 26, 2018
edited 2 months ago
Interestingly, picked up another copy around 2 years after my initial copy which had the noisy side 2 which was a widespread issue. This new replacement copy is a really quiet pressing throughout. The recording is slightly ‘crunched’ at times with this album. However, the sound is generally pretty much okay. If you can accept that this recording isn’t the most dynamic then this is a good option.


May 27, 2018
Very bad pressing, it's common among Capitol's "from the vaults".
Return it is


May 7, 2018
edited 11 months ago

Keep in mind the following: This album was horribly mixed from the onset. Having owned the CD multiple times and getting the digital releases, the poor mixing was evident. The Hollow being a prime example. Complaints about this being a terrible pressing are unfounded. It is, however, mediocre.

There's not much surface noise on my end, including on side B. But some tracks sound overly distorted. For instance, Rose sounds like it suffers from the loudness wars. The track is much cleaner on CD and digital. on the LP, it's super distorted and it sounds crackly at times. It's a shame because it's a great precursor to Judith, which sounds fantastic on the pressing. Outside of Rose and Thinking of You, it sounds great all around.

Clean your records and store them in anti-static sleeves. Clean your stylus before each use. That will eliminate a lot of the hyperbole found here.


May 2, 2018
Terrible pressing. Period. Do not buy! We'll just have to wait for the next issue


December 29, 2017

Other comments are true. Great album, but poor pressing with a lot of surface noise, especially on side B. Sound also feels muddy and highly compressed while lacking details.


August 17, 2017
All the negative comments are true. I've bought the brand new sealed vinyl, and the surface noise is the strongest I've ever heard on a vinyl record. And it's not a matter of a dirty record - cleaning with Okki Nokki didn't help at all. Also, tried another brand new vinyl (same release) - the noise issue is exactly the same. And it's an irony that the noise is strongest on the side B - this side has all the 3 best songs in the album IMO. The sound also lacks details, and is not great overall (compared to the digital version of the album that I have). So, I wouldn't recommend buying this release - better to find an older release, or wait for a new reissue.


June 2, 2017

One of the worst sounding records in my relitively small collection. In addition to the high noise floor as people have mentioned there's just a lack of clarity. I can't make out the bass or any strings and the cymbals almost sound distrorted. I'm no audiophile but maybe I'm on the path and a release like this at least shows me what it shouldn't sound like.

The songs themselves are great though.


December 12, 2016
Bad quality control. too much surface noise, side B in particular.


August 31, 2016

good sounding RE overall, although it's too noisy in between the songs - especially on side B