AaRON (4) ‎– Artificial Animals Riding On Neverland

Discograph ‎– 6131752
CD, Album, Enhanced, Slipcase

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Endless Song 4:17
2 U-Turn (Lili) 3:50
3 O-Song 3:41
4 Mister K. 2:57
5 Blow 3:14
6 Beautiful Scar 2:52
7 Strange Fruit
Written-By – Lewis Allan
8 Angel Dust 3:37
9 War Flag 3:25
10 Lost Highway 6:15
11 Le Tunnel D'Or 3:39
12 Little Love 3:35
13 Last Night Thoughts 2:54
Video U-Turn (Lili) 4:02

Companies, etc.



Recorded and mixed at AaRONFACTORY Studio, Paris - France.
Mastered at Masterdisk Europe, Paris - France.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 3700426900294
  • Barcode (Text): 3 700426 900294
  • Matrix / Runout: [MPO x3] CA 6098815 @
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L039
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 1262
  • Rights Society: SACEM SDRM SACD SCAM

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CDLPPUP003 AaRON (4) Artificial Animals Riding On Neverland(CD, Album) PuPilo Records CDLPPUP003 Spain 2006 Sell This Version
6098815 AaRON (4) Artificial Animals Riding On Neverland(CD, Album, Enh, Promo, Car) Discograph 6098815 France 2006 Sell This Version
INDCD083 AaRON (4) Artificial Animals Riding On Neverland(CD, Album) Indica (2) INDCD083 Canada 2006 Sell This Version
none AaRON (4) Artificial Animals Riding On Neverland(15xFile, AIFF, Album) Cinq 7 none Europe 2008
3138732 AaRON (4) Artificial Animals Riding On Neverland(CD, Album) Cinq 7 3138732 France 2008 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 4, 2010

I have to review this album, because I just cant stop listening to it. It was brought to my attention when I downloaded the song U-Turn (Lili), which is one of the most played songs on my iPod, with a 5 Star Rating. As i had only heard U-Turn, I was expecting something pop-ballad like, but no my intentions were wrong. I was actually presented with sounds more similar to a cross of Downtempo Electronic Indie-Pop music. This music is just so obscure, well to it me is, and I love obscurity and love this album for that reason. Simon Burets vocals are just amazing, they show such emotional, he sings with a rough sound, but its not angry its calming, but you can just sense the amount of sadness in his voice. (Should make a note here, if you don't like sad, dream-like music - stay away from this album)

The album has a lot of downtempo ingredients, low deep bass lines with a lot of synthesizer sounds, but at times a more brighter feeling shines through, this is done by beautifully composed and arranged piano playing. The lyrics are just intriguing - I mean in the song Mister K., we have lyrics like "My goldfish died today", yes at first even I paused the track, sat there and went 'what the fxxk, he's singing about a goldfish' - of course after some thought I realised it was a metaphor...and a good one. Of course, AaRON is a French musician and so he does have a track in French - but for a Frenchman his writing and pronunciation of the English language is great, and at times its better than some English musicians! Talking about AaRON being French, I'm sure most people have some idea of French and their obsession with design and art...like most of Western Europe, and so the French vibes really show strong in this album...because almost every song is a different piece of art.

The album through-out holds up as an obscure French indie-pop downtempo-electronic artistic masterpiece, except the only let down here is the track "War Flag" which in my opinion I just dislike. Here are some recommendations, on how to get into listening to this album...because for some obscurity in music is sometimes hard to swallow, and people start in the wrong place and get turned off by it; i would start with what I started with, U-Turn (Lili)...then move on to songs like Beautiful Scar, Endless Song, Angel Dust. The most obscure track here, is not the one about the goldfish...its the last track on the normal entry standard album - Last Nights Thoughts, the most dream like song I've heard in a long time. Finally, if you like albums such as listed below then I would give this album a listen:
Rob Dougan - Furious Angels
The xx - xx
Goldfrapp - Seventh Tree
...and similar albums to them.