Abel Ganz ‎– Abel Ganz

Abel Records (3) ‎– ARAG003CD
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Delusions Of Grandeur
Keyboards, Written By – Jack Webb (7)Oboe – Sarah CruickshankViolin, Viola – Frank Van Essen
2 Sunrise
Acoustic Guitar, Twelve-String Guitar, Classical Guitar – Davie MitchellBacking Vocals – Denis Smith (4)Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Mick MacfarlanePiano, Mellotron [Samples] – Jack Webb (7)Recorder – Fiona Cuthill
3 Evening
Backing Vocals – Hugh Carter (2)Congas – Ed Higgins (2)Drums, Backing Vocals – Denis Smith (4)Electric Bass – Stephen DonnellyElectric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar – Davie MitchellLead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Electric Guitar – Mick MacfarlanePedal Steel Guitar – Iain SloanPiano, Mellotron [Samples], Backing Vocals, Organ [Hammond] – Jack Webb (7)Recorder – Fiona CuthillTin Whistle – Stevie Lawrence
4 Close Your Eyes
Drums, Backing Vocals – Denis Smith (4)Electric Bass – Stephen DonnellyElectric Guitar – Davie MitchellLead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Mick MacfarlaneOrgan [Hammond] – Jack Webb (7)Synth [solo], Programmed By – Hew Montgomery
5 The Dream
Acoustic Bass, Electric Bass – Stephen DonnellyDrums – Denis Smith (4)Electric Guitar – Davie MitchellFlute – David Carlton (2)Keyboards, Bells – Jack Webb (7)Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Mick MacfarlaneOrgan [Church], Synth – Stephen Lightbody (2)Twelve-String Guitar – Stevie Lawrence
6 Dawn
Drums – Denis Smith (4)Electric Bass – Stephen DonnellyElectric Guitar – Davie Mitchell, Mick MacfarlaneOrgan [Hammond], Mellotron [Samples] – Jack Webb (7)
7 Spring
Acoustic Guitar – Mick Macfarlane
8 Recuerdos
Lead Vocals, Harmony Vocals, Acoustic Guitar – Mick MacfarlaneTrumpet, Flugelhorn – Alastair McGheeTuba, Trombone – John Milne
9 Heartland
Keyboards, Drum Programming, Programmed By, Written By – Jack Webb (7)Vocals – Joy Dunlop
10 End Of Rain
Acoustic Guitar – Hugh Carter (2), Mick MacfarlaneAcoustic Guitar, Sounds – Davie MitchellCongas, Percussion – Ed Higgins (2)Drums – Denis Smith (4)Electric Bass [Fretless] – Stephen DonnellyKeyboards, Sounds – Jack Webb (7)Low Whistle – Stevie Lawrence
11 Thank You
Accordion – Malcolm Jones (2)Acoustic Bass – Stephen DonnellyDrums – Denis Smith (4)Electric Guitar – Jerry DonahuePedal Steel Guitar – Iain SloanResonator Guitar – Stevie LawrenceVocals, Acoustic Guitar – Mick Macfarlane
12 A Portion Of Noodles
Acoustic Guitar – Mick Macfarlane
13 Unconditional
Congas – Ed Higgins (2)Drums – Denis Smith (4)Electric Bass, Acoustic Bass – Stephen DonnellyElectric Guitar – Davie MitchellElectric Guitar [1st Guitar Solo] – William BarberoKeyboards – Jack Webb (7)Saxophone – Andrew Brodie, David MacDonald (2)Trombone – John MilneTrumpet – Alastair McGheeTrumpet [Muted] – Tom MacNivenTwelve-String Guitar – Iain SloanVocals, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar [2nd Gtr Solo] – Mick Macfarlane
14 The Drowning
Arranged By – Chris Brown (21)Brass Band – Brass Band Of JohnstoneConductor – Paul KiernanVocals – Mick Macfarlane

Companies, etc.



Recorded at GanZ Mansions, New College Lanarkshire, Maybank Studios, Glasgow
© 2014 Abel Records

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 888174793818
  • Matrix / Runout: A61015 ARAG003CD
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI LD02
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 5J34



Add Review



November 16, 2015

In 2008 I discovered a new band (for me) and their new album. This band was Abel Ganz and their new album was then called Shooting Albatross. I played that record A LOT back in 2008 and 2009. I kept checking on the band to know if they would soon release a new record but by 2010 I lost hopes and forgot about them.
In the late 2013/early 2014 the band started to tease fans in their social media websites and their crowdfunding campaign for their new album was a success. So here we have their self titles album Abel Ganz, released in July 8 2014.

Now, first things first, this new release has certain differences from their previous album. First their have a new line up and this change any band's music. Second their new album is a bit more folky. Granted, their previous album was also very folky, but I believe Abel Ganz (2014) is more, way more. And third and final difference, the album is long, clocking almost 73 minutes.

Musically speaking Abelz Ganz (2014) is as high as you can get. High quality musicians and excellent crafting songs. No doubt about it. But as with many long albums I feel a sense of 'filler' in many songs in the album and this is the big reason for the album not get a 5 stars from me (if not the only one).

But don't fool yourself, Abel Ganz is an amazing piece of music, specially for the weak year that was 2014 for Progressive Rock. Also, the CD has one of the most amazing artwork in the last few years. You should definitely pick the CD edition and enjoy without reservations!