African Head Charge ‎– Songs Of Praise

On-U Sound ‎– ON-U CD12
CD, Album


1 Free Chant (Churchical Chant Of The Iyabinghi) 3:30
2 Orderliness, Godliness, Discipline And Dignity 3:16
3 Hymn 5:30
4 Dervish Chant 7:50
5 Hold Some More 6:18
6 Healing Father 4:46
7 Healing Ceremony 3:48
8 Cattle Herders Chant 4:15
9 Ethiopian Praises 1:28
10 My God 4:11
11 Gospel Train 3:02
12 Chant For The Spirits 4:08
13 God Is Great 4:16
14 Deer Spirit Song 2:22

Companies, etc.



©Copyright 1990 On-U Sound Records Ltd.
Made in France.
©Copyright Control

Issued in a standard jewel case with 4-page booklet.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Label Code: LC8619
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): ONU CD 12 MPO 01 @@
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): ONU CD 12 [MPO Crossed Out] 01 @@
  • Distribution Code: CD07472

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
157 708-2 African Head Charge Songs Of Praise(CD, Album) Musidisc 157 708-2 France Unknown Sell This Version
ON-U LP 50 African Head Charge Songs Of Praise(LP, Album) On-U Sound ON-U LP 50 UK 1990 Sell This Version
ONUCD 9013 African Head Charge Songs Of Praise(CD, Album, RE) On-U Sound ONUCD 9013 UK 2009 Sell This Version
772771-2 African Head Charge Songs Of Praise(CD, Album) Restless Records 772771-2 US 1990 Sell This Version
121812 African Head Charge Songs Of Praise(CD, Album) Musidisc 121812 France 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 7, 2018
All-time classic record. The vivid atmosphere is one part rainforest voodoo, one part Ethiopian chant, one part tribal trance, one part dubathon. Fantastic!


October 7, 2004
edited over 13 years ago

It is a well known fact that to dub fans Adrian Sherwood is God's messenger on Earth. Therefore this album is the spiritual dub equivalent of the Bible :)

'Songs Of Praise' was a massive underground hit in the UK and deservedly so. Sherwood's production is top notch, subtle throughout and in-yer-face only when absolutely required.

Constructed of sampled African rhythms, SOP in many ways represents the seminal coming of age of ambient/dub/tribal music. The samples are treated and used respectfully resulting in tracks are spiritually uplifting but with a grounded dub feel. Tracks vary greatly from more orthodox reggae/gospel (Gospel Train) to truly tribal trance (Dervish Chant) to spiritual that will make you grin like the Joker on E (Hymn).

An unsurpassed album that is a landmark for the genres that it helped define.