Aimee Mann ‎– Whatever

Imago (3) ‎– 72787-21017-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 I Should've Known
Drums, Bass, Electric Guitar, Organ [Pump], Mellotron, Chamberlin, Vocals – Jon BrionElectric Guitar, Vocals, Bass, Other [Dixie Cup] – Aimee MannGuitar [Intro] – Todd NelsonVocals – Buddy JudgeWords By, Music By – Aimee Mann
2 Fifty Years After The Fair
Bass, Vocals – Aimee MannDrums – Jim KeltnerElectric Guitar, Organ [Optigan], Glockenspiel, Tambourine, Vocals – Jon BrionTwelve-String Guitar [12-string Electric Guitar], Vocals – Roger McGuinnWords By, Music By – Aimee Mann
3 4th Of July
Acoustic Guitar, Bass – Aimee MannDrums – Michael HausmanVibraphone, Mellotron – Jon BrionWords By, Music By – Aimee Mann
4 Could've Been Anyone
Drums, Bass, Guitar, Piano, Organ [Optigan], Mellotron, Vibraphone, Glockenspiel, Vocals, Chamberlin – Jon BrionFeaturing [Byrds' Quotes] – Roger McGuinnLyrics By – Aimee MannMusic By – Aimee Mann, Jules Shear, Marty Willson-PiperOrgan [Pump], Vocals – Aimee MannPercussion – Michael Hausman
5 Put Me On Top
Acoustic Guitar – Buddy JudgeBass, Mellotron, Vocals – Aimee MannDrums – Jim KeltnerElectric Guitar, Mellotron, Vocals – Jon Brion
6 Stupid Thing
Acoustic Guitar – Buddy JudgeBass, Vocals – Aimee MannDrums – Jim KeltnerElectric Guitar, Piano, Harmonium, Organ [Optigan, Pump], Chamberlin – Jon BrionWritten-By – Aimee Mann, Jon Brion
7 Say Anything
Bass, Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Piano, Mellotron, Vocals – Jon BrionDrums – Milt SuttonLyrics By – Aimee Mann, Jon BrionMusic By – Jon BrionPercussion, Vocals – Aimee Mann
8 Jacob Marley's Chain
Acoustic Bass, Organ [Pump], Mellotron, Harmonium, Kazoo, Chamberlin – Jon BrionAcoustic Guitar – Buddy JudgePercussion [Orchestral] – Michael Hausman
9 Mr. Harris
Arranged By [Strings], Conductor – Jimmie HaskellEuphonium – Randy BrionFeaturing – The Sid Sharp StringsOboe – Mike BreauxPiano, Arranged By [Woodwinds] – Jon Brion
10 I Could Hurt You Now
Acoustic Guitar [Hi-fi], Vocals – Buddy JudgeBass, Acoustic Guitar [Lo-fi], Vocals – Aimee MannCello [Electric] – David Coleman (2)Drums – Michael HausmanElectric Guitar, Organ [Hammond], Mellotron, Harmonium [Indian], Tambourine, Piano, Glockenspiel, Harmonica [Bass Harmonica], Vocals – Jon BrionProducer – Tony Berg
11 I Know There's A Word
Acoustic Guitar, Vocals – Buddy JudgeArranged By – Jon BrionBass – Aimee MannDrums, Keyboards – Jon BrionStrings – The Sid Sharp StringsWritten-By – Aimee Mann, Jon Brion
12 I've Had It
Bassoon – Mike BreauxDrums [Bass, Tongue], Cymbal, Congas – Michael HausmanElectric Guitar, Piano, Organ [Cottage, B-3, Optigan, Wurlitzer], Celesta, Piano [Tack], Bass Harmonica, Piccolo Flute, Other [Bottles] – Jon BrionGuitar [Nylon String] – Aimee MannProducer – Aimee Mann, Michael HausmanVocals, Other [Bottles] – Buddy Judge
13 Way Back When
Acoustic Guitar, Vocals – Aimee MannAcoustic Guitar, Vocals, Pipe – Buddy JudgeBass, Electric Guitar, Guitar [Turtle], Piano, Organ [Optigan, Hammond], Piano [Toy], Marimba, Pipe, Vocals – Jon BrionDrums – Michael HausmanTrombone – Randy Brion

Companies, etc.



Recorded at: Q Division, Capitol, Clubhouse, Blue Jay, Bearsville, Zeitgeist, Sunset Sound, Presence. Mixed at Bearsville Studio. Mastered at Masterdisk.

All songs © Aimee Mann (ASCAP), except Stupid Thing, Say Anything, and I Know There's A Word © Aimee Mann (ASCAP)/You Can't Take It With You, and Could've Been Anyone, © Aimee Mann (ASCAP)/Geffen Again Music/Juters Music, Inc./Funzalo Music, Ltd. (BMI)admin. by Music Corp. of American Inc./Tomata-Du-Plenti Music, Ltd., admin. by Bughouse (ASCAP)

℗ & © 1993 The Imago Recording Company.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 27872 10172 6
  • Barcode (Scanned): 727872101726
  • Matrix / Runout: 72787-21017-2 01# ++ SONOPRESS USA
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 21) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
GFLD 19319 Aimee Mann Whatever(CD, Album) Geffen Records GFLD 19319 UK Unknown Sell This Version
72787-21017-2, 74321 21116-2 Aimee Mann Whatever(2xCD, Album, Ltd, S/Edition, Bon) Imago (3), Imago (3) 72787-21017-2, 74321 21116-2 Europe 1994 Sell This Version
BVCP-638 Aimee Mann Whatever(Cass, Album, Promo, Gen) BMG Victor Inc. BVCP-638 Japan 1993 Sell This Version
IM ADV 21017-2 Aimee Mann Whatever(CD, Album, Promo) Imago (3) IM ADV 21017-2 US 1993 Sell This Version
72787-21017-4 Aimee Mann Whatever(Cass, Album, Dol) Imago (3) 72787-21017-4 Canada 1993 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



September 14, 2018
Oh, my God, yes! This one and I'm With Stupid on vinyl. Heaven!


August 25, 2018
It's so unlikely to ever happen, with all the record company woes Mann had, but this is one of the early Aimee Mann albums I'd LOVE to have on vinyl.