Air Liquide ‎– Nephology - The New Religion

Rising High Records ‎– RSN CD 15
CD, Album


1 The Cloud 9:53
2 Semwave 7:03
3 Die Reise Im Teekessel 11:32
4 Nephology 3:02
5 If There Was No Gravity 7:44
6 Kymnea 5:09
7 Sulfur Clouds 4:06
8 Im Erlenmeyerkolben I 2:29
9 Im Erlenmeyerkolben II 4:04
10 Stratus Static 8:13
11 Cassiopeia 6:05
12 The Clouds Have Eyes 6:44



The track listing in this release contains a comical mess of errors, from missing tracks to altered titles and typos.

The CD booklet lists 14 tracks, all of which are present on the Rising High LP version of the album, but "Auroral Wave" and "THX Is On" were actually cut from this CD release, and the info on the artwork was not updated accordingly. The actual track listing is given on this page.

Spelling errors:
- Track 2 misspelled as is Semiwave, it should be Semwave
- Track 3 is misspelled as "Die Reisse Im Teekessel" (should be "Reise").

- Tracks 8 and 9 are misspelled as "Im Grlenmeyerkolben I/II" on the Rising High (both LP and CD) versions of this album. "Erlenmeyerkolben" is German for "Erlenmeyer flask".

- Track 11 is misspelled as "Casiopeia" (should be "Cassiopeia" — the name of a constellation, among other things).

The correct spelling for all of the above can be verified by looking at the original Blue releases of this album (which, unfortunately, have a couple of other typos instead):

CD version - BLUE 013 (see artwork)

Cassette (promo; see scanned info in artwork)

The Rising High versions of this album have a slightly different track listing than the original Blue releases. The Rising High editions include the tracks "The Cloud" and "If There Was No Gravity". The Blue versions include "Aurorabelt" (also spelled "Aurora Belt"), which is most likely the proper name for the track "Auroral Wave" (found on the Rising High LP, but not the CD).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5024900001382
  • Matrix / Runout: MAYKING RSNCD15

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
BLUE 012 Air Liquide Nephology - The New Religion(12", Cle + 7" + Album, Ltd, Num) Blue BLUE 012 Germany 1993 Sell This Version
none Air Liquide Nephology(Cass, Album, Promo) Rising High Records none UK 1994 Sell This Version
blue 013 Air Liquide Nephology - The New Religion(CD, Album) Blue blue 013 Germany 1994 Sell This Version
RSN LP 15 Air Liquide Nephology - The New Religion(2xLP, Album, W/Lbl) Rising High Records RSN LP 15 UK 1994 Sell This Version
RSN LP 15 Air Liquide Nephology - The New Religion(2xLP, Album) Rising High Records RSN LP 15 UK 1994 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



July 11, 2015

Air Liquide waver between mystery and wonder with NEPHOLOGY, their debut for the seminal Rising High label. The twinkling and eerie harmonics of "The Cloud" help set the mood immediately before the acid comes to sweep the cobwebs away. "Semiwave" gets more spacious, and "Die Reise Im Teekessel" sweeps in on large swaths of sounds, both digital and sampled, as if drifts around. But the stunning "If There Was No Gravity" breaks through the consciousness with its lullaby opening and dreamy atmosphere. "Kymnea" follows with a ethereal swirl, occasionally punctuated with bursts of noise, while the two "Im Erlenmeyerkolben" hang suspended in space. But "Stratus Static" brings in the hip-hop beat to bring things down to an acid-coated earth, letting "Cassiopeia" crackle with its refracted synth pads. "The Clouds Have Eyes" closes the album with what sounds like an interstellar spaceship chase, as the track accelerates and slowly starts to break apart at the seams, replete with alarm klaxon. A phenomenal album.


March 1, 2012
"The Clouds Have Eyes" is probably the scariest piece of music I've ever heard. The stuff of nightmares. LOVE IT!


November 21, 2009

This is the release to have. Not only for The Cloud track but for to also have If There was no Gravity (which i like except that opening lullaby thing has always made me cringe). This version on Rising High is more fluid than the copy on Blue records. It feels a better pacing and the songs don't seem to clutter each other vibe wise. This one feels a bit more techno than the other. Still a fine release and the experimentation of the overall product still stands the test of time 16 years later. Should be in every techno enthusiasts library.


May 4, 2005
edited over 15 years ago
Weird stretched out abrasive ambient with beats. Not very comforting music. Strangely attractive, and not on the first listen, but nothing gripping.