Alex Reece ‎– So Far

Quango Records ‎– 162-531 066-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Feel The Sunshine (Original Mix)
Vocals – Deborah AndersonWritten-By – Anderson*
2 Jazz Master (Original Mix) 5:36
3 Intro I 2:30
4 Acid Lab 5:23
5 Pulp Friction 5:42
6 Candles (Original Mix)
Vocals, Written-By – Carmen*
7 Ibiza 6:08
8 Intro 2 2:46
9 Out Of Time 5:22
10 UR 5:52


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 162-531066-2 8

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
524 265-1, BRLPD 621 Alex Reece So Far(2xLP, Album, Ltd) 4th & Broadway, 4th & Broadway 524 265-1, BRLPD 621 UK 1996 Sell This Version
162-531 066-2 Alex Reece So Far(Cass, Album) Quango Records 162-531 066-2 US 1996 Sell This Version
BRCA 621, 524 265-4 Alex Reece So Far(Cass, Album) 4th & Broadway, 4th & Broadway BRCA 621, 524 265-4 UK 1996 Sell This Version
BRCD 621, 524 265-2 Alex Reece So Far(CD, Album) 4th & Broadway, 4th & Broadway BRCD 621, 524 265-2 UK & Europe 1996 Sell This Version



Add Review



January 12, 2013

Alex Reece, the vanguard of jazzstep (when such distinctions actually meant something), only released one major label album, SO FAR, but what an album it is. "Feel the Sunshine," dives head first into the funky bassline, with Deborah Anderson's sultry vocals floating above, and "Out of Time" similarly emphasizes the thick double-bass. "Acid Lab," on the other hand, puts more of a tech spin on things, and "Pulp Friction," in particular, has a growling bass to accompany the horn flourishes, but it's certainly the darkest track here. But fear not: the R&B tinged "Candles" brings the mood back up with ease, and "Ibiza" brings the summer right into your home. But, for me, the best track is still "Jazz Msater," a buoyant track that starts with a languorous horn fanfare before the good feeling kicks in full-time. The keyboard is exceptionally perky, and the whole thing is toe-tapping fun. It's a pity Alex Reece didn't go further.