Alice In Chains ‎– Alice In Chains

Columbia ‎– CK 67248, Columbia ‎– 67248
CD, Album, Yellow Jewel Case

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Grind 4:45
2 Brush Away 3:22
3 Sludge Factory 7:12
4 Heaven Beside You 5:27
5 Head Creeps
Music By – Layne Staley
6 Again 4:05
7 Shame In You 5:35
8 God Am 4:07
9 So Close 2:45
10 Nothin' Song 5:40
11 Frogs 8:18
12 Over Now
Performer ["Good Night"] – Ted Lewis & His Orchestra*

Companies, etc.



This release is also known as 'Tripod' or 'Three Legged Dog'.

This CD came in two versions: one with a yellow jewel case and one with a purple jewel case.

Yellow version: The CD is yellow, along with the front and back of jewel case. The tray portion of the jewel case, where the CD resides, is purple.

Recorded at Bad Animals, Seattle, WA
Mixed at Electric Lady
Mastered at Precision Mastering

Track 12: "Good Night" used courtesy of Columbia Records / EMI Feist Catalog Inc.
3-Legged Man Photo: © Copyright 1995 Ripley Entertainment Inc.

Track 1 © 1995 Buttnugget Publishing (ASCAP)
Tracks 2, 7, 8, 11 © 1995 Jack Lord Music / Buttnugget Publishing / Lungclam Music / Michael Inez Music (ASCAP)
Tracks 3, 9, 10 © 1995 Jack Lord Music / Buttnugget Publishing / Lungclam Music (ASCAP)
Track 4 © 1995 Buttnugget Publishing / Michael Inez Music (ASCAP)
Track 5 © 1995 Jack Lord Music (ASCAP)
Track 6 © 1995 Jack Lord Music / Buttnugget Publishing (ASCAP)
Tracks 12 © 1995 Jack Lord Music / Lungclam Music (ASCAP)

[Tray Card]
CK 67248 [Spine]
© 1995, Sony Music Entertainment Inc. / ℗ 1995 Sony Music Entertainment Inc. / Manufactured by Columbia Records.

[Disc Face]
CK 67248 © 1995, Sony Music Entertainment Inc. / ℗ 1995 Sony Music Entertainment Inc. Printed in U.S.A.

67248 [Back Page & Last Page]
© 1995 Sony Music Entertainment Inc. / ℗ 1995 Sony Music Entertainment Inc. Manufactured by Columbia Records. 67248
Artists for a hate free America 1-800-3What-2Do

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 7464-67248-2 8
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 4 & 5): E2 1A CK67248 03
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): E2 1A CK67248 04
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): E2 1A CK67248 07
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2, 4 & 5): IFPI L422
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 7245
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 7211
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 7247
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): none
  • Other (Mould; Variant 1): P 119
  • Other (Mould; Variant 2): P 105
  • Other (Mould; Variant 4): P 104
  • Other (Mould; Variant 5): P 98

Other Versions (5 of 44) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
4811144 Alice In Chains Alice In Chains(Cass, Album) Columbia 4811144 Malaysia 1995 Sell This Version
none Alice In Chains Alice In Chains(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Слон Records none Russia 1995 Sell This Version
481114 9, COL 481114 9, 01-481114-11 Alice In Chains Alice In Chains(CD, Album) Columbia, Columbia, Columbia 481114 9, COL 481114 9, 01-481114-11 Europe 1995 Sell This Version
CT 67248 Alice In Chains Alice In Chains(Cass, Album) Columbia CT 67248 Canada 1995 Sell This Version
CCK 67248 Alice In Chains Alice In Chains(CD, Album, Club) Columbia CCK 67248 US 1995 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



December 13, 2010
so, what happened on this record? isn't this the record where alice in chains lost it? i would disagree strongly....

what happened is they got a better producer. out went dave jerden and his 80s rock cliches, and in came toby wright, who seems to have come from nowhere at all, but clearly understood the equipment quite a bit better. years later, toby wright would become known as the man that broke korn, but, for now, let us refer to him as the man that finally allowed alice in chains to record a few great records: the acoustic one was the universally acclaimed jar of flies and the electric one was the strangely universally panned third record.

i will certainly accept that this record takes the band in a few different directions. the riffs are grindier than before, the production is darker and heavier, the melodies are more dissonant. jerry cantrell sounds less like slash and more like robert fripp, the better tracks are pushing 8 minutes, the floyd influence is a lot stronger. the result is that this album is maybe a little too......weird.......for the average alice in chains fan who, of course, has the reputation of being the kind of guy that can bench an airplane and hates homos, but spends large amounts of time naked in gym locker rooms.

so, maybe the jam at the end of sludge factory - which has a chorus that would make schoenberg grin - is a little too spaced out for the kind of guy that wipes his teary eyes with an american flag during the solo in rooster. maybe all these weird guitar effects and funny noises aren't going to pick up chicks the same way that facelift did. maybe that has to do with why this record got slammed.

however, from my point of view, this is really their best electric record, i may even argue their only strong electric record. this is the only record that introduces their strange breed of epic rock in the following tracks: sludge factory, heaven beside you, head creeps, shame in you, frogs, over now. nobody had ever managed to combine the sludge of slayer with the spaciness of floyd and the darkness of crimson, and nobody has ever really done so again. the in your face singles on this record - grind, again - are amongst the strangest tracks in the history of pop music, and they are pop songs, damn it.

if there's a weak point in the record, it's the 8, 9, 10 tracks.....but the strange thing about these tracks is that they sound better now than they did ten years ago. ten years ago, they were irritating and weird. nowadays, they're strangely intriguing. i don't understand why, really, nor am i capable of explaining them. maybe it's understanding the history of the band, a history that had yet to be written. tracks 8, 9, 10 truly seem to sound like a band descending into madness and falling apart at the seams.

the truth is that this is their most ambitious and mature record. even it's quirks have aged well to the point where i would strongly recommend this record - and amongst the electric work, this record only - to any kids that are looking into the band.