Alice In Chains ‎– MTV Unplugged

Columbia ‎– CK 67703, Columbia ‎– 67703
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Nutshell
Lyrics By – L. Staley*Music By – J. Cantrell*, M. Inez*, S. Kinney*
2 Brother
Written-By – J. Cantrell*
3 No Excuses
Music By [Portions Credited To] – James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett, Lars UlrichWritten-By – J. Cantrell*
4 Sludge Factory
Lyrics By – L. Staley*Music By – J. Cantrell*, S. Kinney*
5 Down In A Hole
Written-By – J. Cantrell*
6 Angry Chair
Guitar [Additional] – Layne StaleyWritten-By – L. Staley*
7 Rooster
Written-By – J. Cantrell*
8 Got Me Wrong
Written-By – J. Cantrell*
9 Heaven Beside You
Lyrics By – J. Cantrell*Music By – J. Cantrell*, M. Inez*
10 Would?
Written-By – J. Cantrell*
11 Frogs
Lyrics By – L. Staley*Music By – J. Cantrell*, M. Inez*, S. Kinney*
12 Over Now
Lyrics By – J. Cantrell*Music By – J. Cantrell*, S. Kinney*
13 Killer Is Me
Bass – Scott OlsonGuitar – Mike InezWritten-By – J. Cantrell*

Companies, etc.



Part of the live acoustic performance series "Unplugged" put out by MTV.
Recorded on April 10th, 1996 using Effanel Music Mobile Recording.

Introduction to track 4 "Sludge Factory" contains portions of "Enter Sandman" by Metallica, and is actually at the end of track 3.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 7464-67703-2 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): DIDP-089742 F4 2A 14
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): DIDP-089742 17
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): DIDP-089742 22
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): DIDP-089742 F2 2A 13
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5): DIDP-089742 G4 2A 17
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2, 5): IFPI L322
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI L323
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI L422
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 5100
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 5029
  • Other (DADC Code): DIDP 089742

Other Versions (5 of 49) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
132.038, 9-050148 Alice In Chains MTV Unplugged(DVD-V, RP, Dol) Columbia, Columbia Music Video 132.038, 9-050148 Brazil Unknown Sell This Version
981-923521 Alice In Chains MTV Unplugged(CD, Album) Columbia 981-923521 Japan Unknown Sell This Version
DVME 50148 Alice In Chains MTV Unplugged(DVD-V) Columbia, Columbia DVME 50148 Mexico 1996 Sell This Version
CK 67703, 67703 Alice In Chains MTV Unplugged(CD, Album) Columbia, Columbia CK 67703, 67703 US 1996 Sell This Version
50148 2 Alice In Chains MTV Unplugged(VHS, PAL) SMV Enterprises 50148 2 UK 1996 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



March 22, 2011
This recording is really subdued, the venue sounds small and (on the DVD) the stage is low lit and intimate. On the DVD they play to a pretty small audience, how did they get tickets? I would kill to go back in time and be there! You can tell the band members are excited and having a good time and they make lots of jokes (both on the CD and DVD), but let's not forget this is Alice in Chains. The acoustic adaptations of their songs were amazing, I'm always floored how they took songs that were already masterpieces and rewrote them into a new set of masterpieces. The performance and singing was amazing. This has to be one of the top live recordings of all time. Layne's performance was a bit haunting!


March 1, 2005
edited over 12 years ago
This was such a haunting performance. Alice in Chains had performed acoustically before, both live and on album, hence why they chose to open with Nutshell and Brother which were both acoustic on the studio albums. Just like with Nirvana before them, the unplugged show for Alice in Chains showed that this "grunge" music was really intelligent and worthy of all the hype that it got. Alice in Chains wrote very solid songs and whether they were distortion-heavy hard rock tracks or if they were done acoustically, the great songwriting always came out on top. In this stripped down performance, the vocals really stand out... you can really hear why Layne Staley was so unique. I'd say what I thought were the standout tracks on the album, but really this whole performance is fantastic.