Allen Ginsberg / William Blake ‎– Songs Of Innocence And Experience

MGM Records ‎– FTS 3083, Verve Forecast ‎– FTS 3083
Vinyl, LP, Album, Promo, Gatefold


A1a Introduction 2:10
A1b The Shepherd
A2 The Echoing Green 1:22
A3 The Lamb 1:10
A4 The Little Black Boy 3:00
A5 The Blossom 1:22
A6 The Chimney Sweeper 2:20
A7 The Little Boy Lost 1:06
A8a The Little Boy Found 1:24
A8b Laughing Song 1:24
A9 Holy Thursday 1:15
A10 Night 3:57
B1 Introduction 2:06
B2 Nurses Song 2:07
B3 The Sick Rose 1:35
B4 Ah! Sun-Flower 1:12
B5 The Garden Of Love 1:02
B6 London 1:55
B7 The Human Abstract 2:30
B8 To Tirzah 1:42
B9 The Grey Monk 4:06

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Apostolic Studios New York City June & July 1969.
The original volume of William Blake’s collection of poems Songs Of Innocence And Experience Showing the Two Contrary States Of The Human Soul was published in 1789 and since then many have tried their hand at putting some of his “songs” to music, including poet Allen Ginsberg who believed that Blake had originally intended for his poems to be sung. Ginsberg also believed that by studying their meter and verse he could roughly figure out how Blake himself would have performed them. This album then, originally released in 1970 on Verve, is the result of his efforts.

3 pages with photographies and lyrics are glued into the gatefold.

"Not For Sale" printed on label.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Label): MGS2112
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Label): MGS2113
  • Matrix / Runout (A-Side Runout Etching): FTS-3083 S-1 MGS-2112 F.G. [block-shaped s stamp] 11
  • Matrix / Runout (B-Side Runout Etching): FTS-3083 S-2 MGS-2113 11 [block-shaped s stamp]