Allen Ginsberg / William Blake ‎– Songs Of Innocence And Experience

MGM Records ‎– FTS 3083, Verve Forecast ‎– FTS 3083
Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold


A1 A.) Introduction B.) The Shepherd
A2 The Echoing Green
A3 The Lamb
A4 The Little Black Boy
A5 The Blossom
A6 The Chimney Sweepers
A7 A.) The Little Boy Lost B.) The Little Boy Found
A8 Laughing Song
A9 Holy Thursday
A10 Night
A1 Introduction
A2 Nurses Song
A3 The Sick Rose
A4 Ah! Sun-Flower
A5 The Garden Of Love
A6 London
A7 The Human Abstract
A8 To Tirzah
A9 The Grey Monk



Recorded at Apostolic Studios New York City June & July 1969.
The original volume of William Blake’s collection of poems Songs Of Innocence And Experience Showing the Two Contrary States Of The Human Soul was published in 1789 and since then many have tried their hand at putting some of his “songs” to music, including poet Allen Ginsberg who believed that Blake had originally intended for his poems to be sung. Ginsberg also believed that by studying their meter and verse he could roughly figure out how Blake himself would have performed them. This album then, originally released in 1970 on Verve, is the result of his efforts.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (A label): MGS2112
  • Matrix / Runout (B label): MGS2113
  • Matrix / Runout (A disc, engraving): FTS - 3083 S-1 MGS-2112 FG
  • Matrix / Runout (B disc, engraving): FTS - 3083 S-2 MGS-2113