Amanda Lear ‎– Incognito

Ariola ‎– 203 450, Ariola ‎– 203 450-320
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Hollywood Is Just A Dream When You're Seventeen
Written-By – A. Lear*, A. Monn*, H. Haller*
A2 Love Amnesia
Written-By – E. Moule*
A3 Red Tape
Written-By – A. Lear*, A. Monn*
A4 New York
Lyrics By [English] – A. Lear*Written-By – F. Lai*
B1 Egal
Written-By – A. Lear*, A. Monn*
B2 Berlin Lady
Written-By – M. Stepstone*, P. Dibbens*
B3 Nymphomania
Written-By – M. Gouty*, P. Nacabal*
B4 If I Was A Boy
Lyrics By [Engl. T.] – A. Lear*Lyrics By [Orig. T.] – A. Salerno*Written-By – W. Foini*
B5 Made In France
Written-By – A. Lear*, P. Jaymes*

Companies, etc.



Recorded and mixed at Arco-Studios, Munich, November 1980 - February 1981.

"Walking incognito behind my dark glasses in a future world not so far away I see the deadly sins. Fighting to survive (it is the law of the jungle) we meet with envy, violence, greed, fear, indifference and even bureaucracy and nostalgia, this favorite sin of mine which helps to accept the future ..." - Amanda Lear, 1981.

A1, A3, B1, B3, B4, B5. Arabella
A2, B2. Ed. Meridian
A4. Cop. Control

203 450-320 on back of sleeve and spine
203 450 on labels

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: GEMA
  • Label Code: LC 0116
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side A): S 203 450 A
  • Matrix / Runout (Label Side B): S 203 450 B
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A, variant 1): 203450 A-1/81S I
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B, variant 1): 203450 B-2/81S I
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped A side (II etched), variant 2): 203450 A-1/81S I II Made in Germany
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped B side (III etched), variant 2): 203450 B-2/81S I III Made in Germany

Other Versions (5 of 24) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
32 960 7 Amanda Lear Incognito(LP, Album, Club) Ariola 32 960 7 Germany 1981 Sell This Version
203 450 Amanda Lear Incognito(LP, Album) Arabella 203 450 France 1981 Sell This Version
SUP-80.171 Amanda Lear Incognito(LP, Album) Ariola SUP-80.171 Argentina 1981 Sell This Version
PL 31575 Amanda Lear Incognito(LP, Album, Promo) RCA Victor PL 31575 Italy 1981 Sell This Version
D 403450 Amanda Lear Incognito(Cass, Album) Ariola D 403450 Spain 1981 Sell This Version



Add Review



July 15, 2010
edited over 9 years ago

This interesting concept album is built around Amanda’s version of the Nine Deadly Sins. Laziness is represented by the first track Hollywood Is Just a Dream When You’re Seventeen, a catchy albeit pessimistic mid-tempo pop number. The appealingly arranged Love Amnesia with its unusual percussive echoes deals with Indifference, whilst Bureaucracy is slammed in the rhythmic dance track Red Tape which contains some prophetic observations. (This album was released in 1981).

The lilting, dreamy New York speculates about the state of the city in 1990; the sin is Fear and this is where the album title came from. Undoubtedly the highlight of the album, Egal is the most memorable melody-wise. This beautiful French chanson blends the best of Amanda’s sung & spoken vocals in a superb arrangement with atmospheric background vocals. It’s not clear how Pride comes into it but that doesn’t matter.

Next up is Nostalgia in the form of Berlin Lady, a sad story song about growing old with a varied tempo. The sin of greed is examined in the plodding Nymph0mania, not one of the better offerings on Incognito. Originally an Italian song, If I Was A Boy covers Envy. I love the edgy emphatic keyboard patterns on this up-tempo number that bears no resemblance whatsoever to Jane Siberry’s When I Was A Boy or Nina Hagen’s Wenn Ich Ein Junge War.

Incognito concludes with the emotion of Anger in the fast-paced Made In France, a pulsating rock song with a charming blend of French and English lyrics. Although not on the level of her masterpiece Revenge, this is probably an underrated album. Let’s say three-and-a-half stars. Thematically it resembles in a way the A-side of Grace Jones obscure 1979 album Muse. Essential for devoted fans and worth acquiring for Egal alone.