Amon Tobin ‎– Bricolage

Ninja Tune ‎– zenCD29
CD, Album


1 Stoney Street 5:53
2 Easy Muffin 5:02
3 Yasawas 5:24
4 Creatures 5:21
5 Chomp Samba 6:07
6 The New York Editor 4:56
7 Defocus 5:10
8 The Nasty 4:35
9 Bitter & Twisted 5:05
10 Wires & Snakes 5:27
11 One Day In My Garden 5:43
12 Dream Sequence 7:19
13 One Small Step 6:11
14 Mission 7:08

Companies, etc.



Comes in jewel case.

Cat# differences:
"zen CD29" (spine) / "zenCD29" (CD).

Liner notes:
Bricolage. A process which uses given material, given signifiers (a text, a chord sequence) but which creates from these new signifiers, a new reality which is not given.
"The bricoleur may not ever complete his purpose but he always puts something of himself into it".
The Savage Mind. Levi Strauss.

Design & photography taken in Seattle, August '96.
℗ & © Ninja Tune 1997.
Published by Just Isn't Music.

Incidental info:
Track 3: listed in booklet wrongly as "Yasawa".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 25978 10292 3
  • Barcode (String): 625978102923
  • Matrix / Runout: 13DF3<0031>ZENCD29
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L483
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI C801
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): none

Other Versions (5 of 12) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
zen CD29, zenCD29 Amon Tobin Bricolage(CD, Album) Ninja Tune, Ninja Tune zen CD29, zenCD29 UK 1997 Sell This Version
ZENDNL29NW Amon Tobin Bricolage(13xFile, WAV, Album) Ninja Tune ZENDNL29NW UK 2017
zenCD29, zen CD29 Amon Tobin Bricolage(CD, Album) Ninja Tune, Ninja Tune zenCD29, zen CD29 Europe 1997 Sell This Version
zen CD29 Amon Tobin Bricolage(CD, Album, Unofficial) Ninja Tune (2) zen CD29 Russia Unknown Sell This Version
ZEN 29 Amon Tobin Bricolage(2xLP, Album, RE, 180) Ninja Tune ZEN 29 UK 2013 Sell This Version



Add Review



December 1, 2009

Upon listening to this the first few times, I wasn't impressed. It sounded like a jumble of sounds - a live improvisation session, and not a particularly good one at that.

Around my third listen it began to come alive, and I realised just how wrong I was. This is a highly structured and carefully composed album. It's only the raggedy grooves and huge range of sounds it employs that give the illusion of ad libbing. Or, more accurately, the raw, nonconservative feel that each track has. Listening carefully, the release draws you in with sheer atmosphere; sometimes dreary, sometimes frantic, other times happy. Each track is a gem in its own right. Highly recommended.