Andreas Vollenweider ‎– Book Of Roses

MJM Music PL ‎– MJM 127
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

Chapter One 18:28
A1 La Strega (Her Journey To The Grand Ball)
Conductor, Orchestrated By – Andres JohoFlute [Chinese Bamboo], Effects [Special] – Andreas VollenweiderOrchestra – Basel SinfoniettaVoice – Saynho Namtchilak*
A2 The Grand Ball Of The Duljas
Bassoon – Christian M. SiegmannCello – Daniel PezzottiDulcimer [Greek Hammer], Violin [Erhu Chinese Violin], Flute [Indian Bamboo], Percussion [Orchestral] – Andreas VollenweiderVoice [Duljas Of The Invisible Dance Compagny, Zurich] – Dodo Hug, Regina Günthard, Sue Mathys
A3 Morning At The Boma Park
Acoustic Guitar [Slide] – Max LässerCharango, Electric Guitar – Thomas FesslerDrums – Walter KeiserDrums [Fram Drum], Percussion – Pedro HaldemannHarp [Electroacoustic], Flute [Greek Flutes], Voice, Keyboards – Andreas VollenweiderPiano – Santino FamulariVoice [Duljas] – Dodo Hug, Regina Günthard, Sue Mathys
A4 The Five Curtains
Harp [Electroacoustic] – Andreas Vollenweider
A5 Book Of Roses
Arco Bass – Peter KeiserBass Trombone – Hugo HelfensteinBassoon – Christian M. SiegmannHorns [English] – Roman SchmidPercussion, Percussion [Crayon] – Pedro HaldemannPercussion, Tom Tom [Toms] – Walter KeiserTrombone – Hanspeter HaasVoice, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Keyboards, Percussion, Effects [Special], Performer [Hooters] – Andreas Vollenweider
A6 In Doga Gamee
Bass Guitar – Peter KeiserDrums – Walter KeiserElectric Guitar – Thomas FesslerHarmonica – Roland Van StraatenPiano, Voice, Harp [Cheng Chinese Harp], Keyboards, Flute [Bamboo] – Andreas VollenweiderVoice – Dodo Hug, Regina Günthard, Sue Mathys
A7 Passage To Promise
Harp [Electroacoustic] – Andreas VollenweiderPercussion [Stone] – Walter KeiserVoice – Ladysmith Black Mambazo
Chapter Two 6:37
A8 In The Woods Of Kroandal
Classical Guitar – Andreas VollenweiderConductor, Orchestrated By – Andres JohoFlute [Fujara Czechoslovakian Shepherd's Flute] – Sandro FriedrichOrchestra – Basel Sinfonietta
A9 Jugglers In Obsidian
Guitar [Spanish] – Gerardo NuñezHandclaps [Palmas] – Carmen Cortes*, GuadianaHarp [Electroacoustic] – Andreas Vollenweider
Chapter Three 12:12
B1 Chanson De L'Heure Bleue
Cello – Daniel PezzottiFlute – Matthias ZieglerOther [Dog] – Tutu SmirnovitchPiano – Andreas Vollenweider
B2 Czippa And The Ursanian Girl
Bass Guitar – Peter KeiserDrums – Walter KeiserPiano, Keyboards, Flute [Alto], Flute [Dolphins Australian Clay Flute], Crumhorn, Bassoon – Andreas VollenweiderSitar [Guitar], Electric Guitar – Thomas FesslerVoice – Corin Curschellas
B3 The Birds Of Tilmun
Effects [Special Effects], Choreography – Andreas VollenweiderFlute [Modified Bass Flute] – Matthias ZieglerOrchestra, Choir – The Silver Symphony Orchestra & ChoirVoice – Saynho Namtchilak*
B4 Hirzel
Acoustic Guitar [Slide] – Max LässerBrass – The Silver Brass EnsembleDrums, Percussion – Walter KeiserElectric Guitar – Thomas FesslerHarp [Electroacoustic], Voice, Twelve-String Guitar – Andreas VollenweiderKeyboards – Christoph StiefelPercussion – Marilyn Mazur
Chapter Four 11:41
B5 Jours D'Amour
Accordion – Hans HasslerAcoustic Bass – Vali MayerChoir [Bulgarian Men's Choir] – Andrzej Poraszka, Angel Petkov, Assen Toschef, Gerassim Gerassimov, György Antalffy, Jvaylo Jvanov, Sacho Jelev, Tadeusz TomaszczukConductor [Bulgarian Men's Choir] – Andres JohoLute [Pipa Chinese Lute] – Thomas FesslerVoice – Corin CurschellasVoice, Keyboards, Classical Guitar – Andreas Vollenweider
B6 Manto's Arrow And The Sphinx
Harp [Electroacoustic], Percussion [Skin], Effects [Bow & Arrow], Effects [Special Effects] – Andreas VollenweiderPercussion [Skin] – Pedro HaldemannVoice – Saynho Namtchilak*
B7 Letters To A Young Rose
Acoustic Bass – Heiri KänzigKora [African Harp], Voice – Andreas VollenweiderPercussion – Thomas Fessler, Walter KeiserPercussion, Voice – Pedro HaldemannPiano, Accordion – Santino FamulariVoice, Effects [Footsteps] – Saynho Namtchilak*


  • Art Direction [Front Cover]Carol Chen
  • Artwork By [Bookwork] – Timothy C. Ely
  • Design [Back Cover]Düde Dürst
  • Engineer [Casino Basel]Jürg Jecklin
  • Engineer [Mixing], Recorded ByEric Merz
  • Engineer [Powerplay Studio]Jürg Peterhans
  • Other [Assisting All Around] – Dominik Zaugg
  • Other [Assisting In Many Way] – Walter Keiser
  • Other [Production Coordination] – Hanswalter Huggler, Sylvie Rossi
  • Other [Set Construction] – Nick Koudis
  • Photography – Predrag
  • Photography By [Portrait]Pier Luigi Macor
  • Written-By, Arranged By, ProducerAndreas Vollenweider


Produced for Avaf Inc. and Avaf Music Publishing, Zurich, Switzerland.
Recorded and mixed at Avaf Studios, Zurich, Switzerland.
Theatrical effects recordings at Radio Studio, Zurich, Switzerland.
Additional recordings at Powerplay Studios, Maur, Switzerland.
Orchestra recordings at Casino Basel, Switzerland.

Exclusively licensed for Poland to MJM Music London by Sony Music. ℗ for Polish edition 1991 MJM Music PL. Not for sale outside Poland.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BIEM / STEMRA
  • Matrix / Runout (SIDE A): 01 468827 20 2A1
  • Matrix / Runout (SIDE B): 01 468827 20 2B1

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
468827 1, COL 468827 1 Andreas Vollenweider Book Of Roses (Sixteen Episodes / Four Chapters)(LP, Album) Columbia, Columbia 468827 1, COL 468827 1 Europe 1991 Sell This Version
468827 4 Andreas Vollenweider Book Of Roses (Sixteen Episodes / Four Chapters)(Cass, Album) Columbia 468827 4 Netherlands 1992 Sell This Version
14468827 Andreas Vollenweider Book Of Roses (Sixteen Episodes / Four Chapters)(LP, Album) Columbia 14468827 Colombia Unknown Sell This Version
CT 48601, CT48601 Andreas Vollenweider Book Of Roses (Sixteen Episodes / Four Chapters)(Cass, Album) Columbia, Columbia CT 48601, CT48601 US 1992 Sell This Version
KNAG 2242 , KNAG-2242 Andreas Vollenweider Book Of Roses / Libro De Rosas(Cass, Album) Columbia, Columbia KNAG 2242 , KNAG-2242 Chile 1992 Sell This Version