Andrew Peterson ‎– Behold The Lamb Of God: The True Tall Tale Of The Coming Of Christ

Fervent Records ‎– 79143-0060-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Gather 'Round, Ye Children, Come
Accordion, Acoustic Guitar, Dulcimer [Lap] – Ben ShiveAcoustic Guitar – Andrew OsengaBacking Vocals – Eric Peters (2), Matthew Perryman Jones, Pappy PetersBass – Chris WeigelBouzouki – Andrew PetersonMandolin – Cason Cooley
2 Passover Us
Acoustic Guitar – Ron BlockBacking Vocals – Anklejelly Jones, Jimmy Hoyt-Washington, Randall Goodgame, Sandra McCrackenBass – Calvin TurnerDrums, Percussion – Garett Buell, Todd Bragg
3 So Long, Moses
Backing Vocals – Jeremy Casella, Shane WilliamsDrums – Garett BuellGuitar [Lap Steel] – Phil MadeiraKeyboards – Ben Shive
4 Deliver Us
Backing Vocals – Andrew PetersonLead Vocals – Derek Webb
5 O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
Acoustic Guitar, Arranged By – Gabe ScottFiddle – Marcus MeyersMandolin – Kyle Reeder
6 Matthew's Begats
Acoustic Guitar – Andrew OsengaBanjo – Ron BlockDouble Bass – Laura StoryMandolin – Kyle Reeder
7 It Came To Pass
Accordion – Ben ShiveBacking Vocals – Jill PhillipsDrums – Steve HindalongGuitar [Dobro] – Gabe Scott
8 Labor Of Love
Acoustic Guitar – Andy GullahornBacking Vocals – Andrew PetersonGuitar [Dobro] – Gabe ScottGuitar [Lap Steel] – Phil MadeiraLead Vocals – Jill PhillpsPercussion – Justin Orton
9 The Holly & The Ivy
Acoustic Guitar, Arranged By – Ben ShiveAcoustic Guitar, Guitar [High Strung] – Andrew OsengaDouble Bass – Laura StoryDulcimer [Hammered] – Gabe ScottFiddle – Marcus MeyersMandolin – Kyle Reeder
10 While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks
Backing Vocals – Alison Osenga, Amanda Noël, Danielle Peters, Derek Webb, Eric Peters (2), Jeremy Casella, Jonathan Noël, Sandra McCrackenBass – Chris WeigelDrums – Todd BraggDulcimer [Hammered] – Gabe Scott
11 Behold The Lamb Of God
Backing Vocals – Amanda Noël, Fernando OrtegaDouble Bass, Written-by [Music] – Laura StoryPercussion – Justin Orton
12 The Theme Of My Song / Reprise
Backing Vocals – Alison Osenga, Amanda Noël, Derek Webb, Jill Phillips, Jonathan Noël, Sandra McCracken, Shane WilliamsBass – Chris WeigelDrums – Garett BuellKeyboards – Ben ShivePercussion – Andrew Osenga



This is a studio recording of Andrew Peterson's annual Christmas Concert of the same name. From the liner notes:

"Once upon a time I wrote what I hesitantly call a musical about the birth of Christ. The word 'musical' doesn't really work because when we think of a musical we usually think of people in donkey costumes. What you hold in your hands is something different, and hopefully something more. It's an album that tells a story - the story - with songs; some intimate, some epic, some humorous, all with the purpose of telling the true tale of the coming of God into the world. It's my hope that as you listen to this record you will hear that old, old story with fresh, new ears.

Five years ago I started writing the songs you hear on this record. Between touring and recording my other three albums I ached to find time to record this collection of songs, but every year for one reason or another the album had to wait. At thevery beginning, with the help of a band called Silers Bald ad my friend Gabe Scott, we hit the road in the dead of winter to try and tell the story of Christ with music. Somehow in spite of the sleepless schedule, the broken vehicles, and the new material, it worked. Barely.

The next year I had this hair-brained scheme to invite some special guests to play at the show in Nashville, so we rehearsed as much as we were able, invited some amazing guys like Phil Keaggy, Fernando Ortega, and the great Ron Block of Union Station, and hoped that when we played with them in Nashville at the end of the tour we wouldn't sound horrible. And again, it worked. Barely That night I asked the guy who arranged the strings, Ben Shive, to come on the road to make music with me and now almost three years later we produced this record together with the help of another good friend, Andrew Osenga.

For five years we made the phone calls, tweaked the arrangements, rehearsed like mad, and shared the story of the coming of Christ along with some of my favourite artists in the world, like Jill Phillips and Derek Webb. It gives me great pleasure to be able to present the fruit of the labour of many, many people who have contributed to this album for the love of the Great Story, what C.S. Lewis called the 'true myth,' the Story that is bigger than life, but is, astoundingly, true. It is my best and most heartfelt hope that by listening to this telling of the Story you will come to lose yourself for the Author, the only one worth serving, loving, and living for. Merry Christmas - AP"

Recorded between February and July of 2004 in Nashville at: The Velvet Eagle, The Park and Dark Horse Studios.

Mastered at Mastermix

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • ASIN: B0006NNQBQ