Aphex Twin ‎– Selected Ambient Works 85-92

[PIAS] America Classics ‎– PIASA 4
CD, Album, Reissue


1 Xtal 4:51
2 Tha 9:01
3 Pulsewidth 3:47
4 Ageispolis 5:21
5 i 1:13
6 Green Calx 6:02
7 Heliosphan 4:51
8 We Are The Music Makers 7:42
9 Schottkey 7th Path 5:07
10 Ptolemy 7:12
11 Hedphelym 6:02
12 Delphium 5:36
13 Actium 7:35

Companies, etc.



This issue does not have SID codes or pressing plant identification, as opposed to Selected Ambient Works 85-92.

Back Cover:
Published by R&S Records. Marketed & Manufactured by [PIAS] America.

Vocal sample on track 8 taken from Gene Wilder (2) in the 1971 movie "Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory."

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Taxt): 8 05551 01042 9
  • Barcode (String): 805551010429
  • Matrix / Runout: 44993AM-01 PIASA4-2 010712-08

Other Versions (5 of 44) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
AMB LP 3922 Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works 85-92(2xLP, Album) Apollo AMB LP 3922 Belgium 1992 Sell This Version
AMB 3922 CD, AMB 3922CD Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works 85-92(CD, Album, RE) Apollo, Apollo AMB 3922 CD, AMB 3922CD Belgium Unknown Sell This Version
AMBLP3922 Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works 85-92(2xLP, Album, RE, RM) Apollo AMBLP3922 UK 2018 Sell This Version
none Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works 85-92(13xFile, WAV, Album, RE) Apollo none UK Unknown
AMB3922XI Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works 85-92(2xLP, Album, Ltd, Unofficial, Bro) Apollo (17) AMB3922XI Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



April 9, 2005
edited over 14 years ago

Well, what can I say? Very well-made album, with a very eclectic sound. It's nice to see elements of techno, ambient, house, and trance swirled into every single track. "Xtal" starts off the album, and I think it's just amazing. Awesome use harmony, very mellow. "Tha" is even more mellow, and the notes drift off with the reverberation. "Pulsewidth" is a track with a more structured techno sound, and the booming bassdrum is a nice addition. This track manages to squeeze some energy into mellow ambient. "Ageispolis" goes beyond the four-to-the-floor beat and ventures into some breakbeat territory. This has a nice punch to it, being nice and bottom heavy in the tonal range. "i" has no beat to it, and it's just a collage of pads playing chords. "Green Calx" immediately contrasts itself to the previous track by being somewhat abrasive in sound. Uses some 303 sounds. "Heliophan" starts off with a moody progression of chords, and it keeps on going with the beat just carrying it. Moddy ambient. "We Are The Music Makers" is another bass-heavy breakbeat track. "Schottkey 7th Path" goes back into the IDM/ambient sound put forth near the beginning of the CD. "Ptolemy" is especially good, and the banging four-to-the-floor rhythm is very nice. It also has some 303 sounds, and a very nice chord progression. Very energetic compared to some of the other tracks on this album. "Hedphelym" is very cacophanous, with very dissonant chords interfering with each other, producing an eerie sound. "Delphium" sounds almost tribal with it's wall of drums. "Actium" is just a progression of melody over a repeating bassline.

In all, I do like this CD very much, but there are definitely some favorite tracks that I recommend: "Xtal," "Tha," "Pulsewidth," "Heliosphan," "Ptolemy," and "Hedphelym." A very electic and unique album to be sure, but it presents non-conventional music in a very nice way. If you have never heard any Aphex Twin stuff, give this a try. I'm sure you will find something you like.