Aphex Twin ‎– Selected Ambient Works Volume II

1972 ‎– if11
3 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue


A1 Untitled
A2 Untitled
A3 Untitled
B1 Untitled
B2 Untitled
B3 Untitled
B4 Untitled
C1 Untitled
C2 Untitled
C3 Untitled
C4 Untitled
D1 Blue Calx
D2 Untitled
D3 Untitled
D4 Untitled
D5 Untitled
E1 Untitled
E2 Untitled
E3 Untitled
F1 Untitled
F2 Untitled
F3 Untitled
F4 Untitled

Companies, etc.


  • Producer, Written-by, Photography By, Sleeve Notes [This Writing]Richard.d. James*


Reissue of the tracks on the US CD version, hence tracks A4 and E2 (popularly known as 'Hankie' and 'Stone in Focus') originally released on WARPLP21 in 1994, are not included. The artwork with divided circles found within the gatefold and on the back cover is meant to represent the album tracks, but is faulty due to these two missing tracks.

Track D1 was previously released under the name Blue Calx, but has no apparent title here due to the aforementioned changes.

Sticker on front cover reads:
"a landmark of the Ambient genre: Richard D. James' soulful, electronic holy music continues to bewilder nearly two decades later. if11"

1972 PO Box 11444 Oakland California 94611 USA
©&℗ 1994 & 2012 Sire Records Company. Produced under license from Sire Records Company.
Manufactured by Rhino Entertainment Company, a Warner Music Group Company. All Rights Reserved. Made in the U.S.A. Marketed by International Feel LLC.

Includes an 11.5" by 11.5" semi-glossy single-sided paper insert.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 852545003110
  • Barcode (Text): 8 52545 00311 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Runout): S-80404 IF-11A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Runout): S-80405 IF-11B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C Runout): S-80406 IF-11C1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D Runout): S-80407 IF-11D1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side E Runout - Inner): IF-11E RE2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side E Runout - Outer): S-80438RE-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side F Runout): S-80439RE-1 IF-11F1

Other Versions (5 of 24) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WARPCD21 Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works Volume II(2xCD, Album) Warp Records WARPCD21 UK 1994 Sell This Version
RTD 126.1670.2 Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works Volume II(2xCD, Album, RP) Warp Records, Rough Trade RTD 126.1670.2 Germany Unknown Sell This Version
RTD 126.1670.2 Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works Volume II(2xCD, Album, RP) Warp Records, Rough Trade RTD 126.1670.2 Germany Unknown Sell This Version
RTD 126.1670.2 Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works Volume II(2xCD, Album) Warp Records, Rough Trade RTD 126.1670.2 Germany 1994 Sell This Version
WARPCDD21 Aphex Twin Selected Ambient Works Volume II(24xFile, FLAC, Album) Warp Records WARPCDD21 UK 2004

Reviews Show All 45 Reviews

Add Review



January 31, 2016
Very disappointing... !!!!sound quality is bad!.. Noisy and no deepth whatsoever 👎🏼


September 13, 2015
Sold mine in the end it's just not a good pressing.


September 8, 2015
As you know, the track 'titles' for this amazing album are photos (taken by Aphex Twin) displayed inside the gatefold. Now it appears to me that this reissue has used a number of photos that were NOT those of the original album art. I know, because I have the original album art. That means that the reissue label '1972' is not only providing an incorrect track listing, it is substituting its own track titles for Aphex Twins'. A bizarre decision that ruins this reissue as far as I'm concerned.


February 28, 2015

I don't really have an issue with this reissue since it arrived in beautiful shape, included the paper insert, etc. Sound was pretty good as well, no skipping, no noise, crackles or pops. But i would still pay good money for a proper re-release by Warp that includes the two missing tracks.


November 28, 2014
If you see this for sale, whether IRL or online, CHECK TO SEE IF IT'S A WARP PRESSING! Do not buy anything Aphex related from 1972! Anything by them Aphex related is a rip off!


November 23, 2014

When is Warp repressing this classic ? There is no proper pressing of this album. Come on, they will sell like warm chocolatemilk.


November 22, 2014

Bought a copy earlier this year. Has very minor clicks and pops. Basically bought it to hear Rhubarb on vinyl at will. And months later, I just realized it's the 1972 pressing.

So, I can't return it. Oh well - I'll buy a proper remaster when it comes. This will sit, unloved, in my collection. I'm not going to resell it or give it away - I don't want anyone else to hear SAW II in this "just meh," quality.

Thumbs down, 1972.


November 4, 2014

Rip off. Doesn't include the original pressing vinyl only bonus track "Stone in Focus", which is the whole reason to own this album on vinyl at all, AND it doesn't even include "Hankie" from the UK CD. So basically, this pressing is the worst way to experience this album. Cross your fingers that they eventually rectify this with a new reissue with the 2 tracks included. Until then, stay far away from this pressing and find those 2 tracks elsewhere, because they're essential.


October 5, 2014
edited about 1 year ago
I sent back my copy to the shop.It sounded horrible. Shame repress.


September 3, 2014
Just got this. Quite crackly and it was sealed when I got it. Few pops so far whilst listening too. Shame. Labels are not central on some sides too. The noises on this pressing ruin the quiet music.