Aphrodite's Child ‎– 666

Vertigo ‎– 6673 001
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The System
A2 Babylon
Guest, Tenor Saxophone [Tenor-sax] – Michel RipocheLead Vocals [Lead Vocal] – Demis Roussos
A3 Loud, Loud, Loud
A4 The Four Horsemen
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal] – Demis Roussos
A5 The Lamb
A6 The Seventh Seal
B1 Aegian Sea
B2 Seven Bowls
B3 The Wakening Beast
B4 Lament
B5 The Marching Beast
B6 The Battle Of The Locusts
B7 Do It
B8 Tribulation
B9 The Beast
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal] – Lucas Sideras
B10 Ofis
C1 Seven Trumpets
C2 Altamont
C3 The Wedding Of The Lamb
C4 The Capture Of The Beast
Guest, Lead Vocals – Irene Papas
C6 Hic Et Nunc
Guest, Tenor Saxophone [Tenor-sax] – Michel RipocheLead Vocals [Lead Vocal] – Demis Roussos
D1 All The Seats Were Occupied
D2 Break
Lead Vocals [Lead Vocal] – Lucas Sideras

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Europasonor

Released in a gatefold cover on a ''swirl'' Vertigo label.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Other (Cat. nr. disc 1): 6333 500
  • Other (Cat. nr. disc 2): 6333 501
  • Matrix / Runout: 6333500 1Y//1▽420 11 3
  • Matrix / Runout: 6333500 2Y//1▽420 11 1
  • Matrix / Runout: 6333501 1Y//1▽420 11 3
  • Matrix / Runout: 6333501 2Y//1▽420 11 2

Other Versions (5 of 95) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
VCT 4 2-500 Aphrodite's Child 666(Cass, Album) Vertigo VCT 4 2-500 US 1972 Sell This Version
6673 001 Aphrodite's Child 666(2xLP, Album, RE, Gat) Vertigo 6673 001 Germany Unknown Sell This Version
6673 001 Aphrodite's Child 666(2xLP, Album, Gat) Vertigo 6673 001 France 1972 Sell This Version
6641 581 Aphrodite's Child 666(2xLP, Album, RE, Gat) Vertigo 6641 581 UK 1977 Sell This Version
SFX-10014-5 Aphrodite's Child 666(2xLP, Album, Gat) Vertigo SFX-10014-5 Japan 1976 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 8 Reviews

Add Review



January 11, 2019
Nice poly lined inners, but mine are split straight out of the sleeve. Vexing.


April 28, 2018
Monumental doomy double concept album with a totally hell-ish feel. A killer recommended to any psych / prog buff.


June 23, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
This is what 'progressive' should be: Imaginative, complex, freaky; also very psychedelic. A real trip that has aged very well. Blows nearly all UK 'monsters' out of the water. And concerning pressings: This is one of the cases where the UK press hype really makes sense: The UK pressings (also the spaceship version) sound far superior to German pressings. You can tell the reason by looking at the discs: German pressings look like 12'' singles; a lot of space in the dead wax; UK pressings are much more 'stretched out' and sound a lot more transparent, and this is definitely one of the records where great sound really matters.


October 31, 2015
edited over 4 years ago
I'm looking for Aphrodite's child on cd


March 14, 2013
edited over 6 years ago
On track C5 ∞ (infinity) Irene Papas delivers the most orgasmic piece of (?) ever made available to public. I doubt you'll find anything that can compete with this one on the orgasm meter.


January 6, 2012
This is surely one of the most important records of the 70s, and at the same time one of the most underrated records of all times. The reason why at the time very few people really appreciated it is probably due to the fact that Aphrodite's Child was considered only a pop-beat band, and this album is so strangely different from the previous AC-sound that nobody really understood what '666' was: a great great great modern-psychedelic record.
Musically it belongs for sure more to psychedelia than to progressive. It is surprisingly various, despite the fact it is a concept album, conceived essentially as a unique suite fragmented in short or long 'songs', with several kaleidoscopic flavours sometimes in apparent contradiction: from the ethnic-psychedelia (Kaleidoscope and East Of Eden) to the dark kraut-psych-progressive (Amon Duul and Can, 'Yeti' and 'Tago Mago'), from the space-hard blues to the freaky-hippy anthems (Magma and 'Hair'). Every style is perfectly amalgamated in an unique and original blend by the author/producer, Vangelis. Every step of this post-hippy trip is full of musical surprises directly coming from the best psychedelic music of the '60s. The production is perfect and '666' still sounds really 'modern', as a lot of cotemporary psychedelia try to sound close to that period and production-style.
For a long time this album was considered as a 'Black rock mass', one of the prototypes of Satanist-esotheric-rock: and it is, of course (sometimes in a very impressive way). But this is just one of the keys to understanding the real cultural meaning of this masterpiece. In fact, through this musical interpretation of the John's Apocalypse, this 'black/white musical mass' tells us the end of the Peace-and-Love dream. One of the crucial songs of '666' is 'Altamont', the paradygm of the end of the hippies' short season: but all the record is full of slogans and calls like "Here and now!" or "We got the System to fuck the System" ("The day the world will turn upside down, we'll run together round and round screaming, shouting, singing, loud, loud, loud, loud"). Another incredible song is 'Infinity' (symbol), with a 5-minutes orgasmic exorcism wonderfully cryed-shouted-screamed-murmured by a possessed Irene Papas with a tribal percussion in the background: it comes from a 39-minutes free-session (that i'd really like to listen entirely...). In the end, this is a record difficult to leave on the shelf, once you have discovered it.