Arcade Fire ‎– The Suburbs

Merge Records ‎– MRG385
CD, Album, Beige

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Suburbs 3:11
2 Ready To Start 4:15
3 Modern Man 4:39
4 Rococo 3:56
5 Empty Room 2:51
6 City With No Children 3:11
7 Half Light I 4:13
8 Half Light II (No Celebration) 4:25
9 Suburban War
Saxophone – Colin Stetson
10 Month Of May 3:50
11 Wasted Hours 3:20
12 Deep Blue 4:28
13 We Used To Wait
French Horn – Pietro AmatoSaxophone – Colin Stetson
14 Sprawl I (Flatland) 2:54
15 Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)
French Horn – Pietro AmatoSaxophone – Colin Stetson
16 The Suburbs (Continued) 1:27

Companies, etc.



Recorded at: Petite Église, Farnham; Magic Shop, New York;
Studio Frisson, Montréal; Public Hi-Fi, Austin;
and various bedrooms, living rooms and basements in Montréal.
Mixed at: Studio Frisson, Montréal

CD released in a cardboard gatefold sleeve with 28 page booklet.

The Suburbs CD was issued as a series of eight alternate album covers. The cover art depicts the same car parked in front of a suburban house or yard and each version is designed with a specific color on the spine and back artwork (both in shading and text). This version is beige.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Sticker): 6 73855 03852 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): Z89847 M1S5 7G MRG385-2 TEXT 01
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): Z89847 7G MRG385-2 TEXT 01 M1S3
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): Z89847 M1S4 7G MRG385-2 TEXT 01
  • Mastering SID Code (Variants 1, 2 & 3): ifpi L909
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 2U7M
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 2U7G
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 2UA2

Other Versions (5 of 42) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MRG385 Arcade Fire The Suburbs(2xLP, Album, Gat) Merge Records, Sonovox Records MRG385 US 2010 Sell This Version
MRG385 Arcade Fire The Suburbs(CD, Album, Blu) Merge Records MRG385 US 2010 Sell This Version
2742629/B, 2742629 Arcade Fire The Suburbs(CD, Album) City Slang, Sonovox Records 2742629/B, 2742629 Europe 2010 Sell This Version
none Arcade Fire The Suburbs(16xFile, MP3, Album, RE, 320) Sony Music CG none US 2017
2742629/E, 2742629 Arcade Fire The Suburbs(CD, Album) City Slang, Sonovox Records 2742629/E, 2742629 Europe 2010 Sell This Version



Add Review



November 14, 2010
Up to this point, I haven't really payed much attention to Arcade Fire. Was it the lack of time, the fact there are so many (equally great if not greater) bands, etc. Maybe its the sleeve here that attracted me first, cannot tell. Well, for all of its sleepiness with occasional bursts of energy (and despite the universal acclaim votes that were there probably way before it was actually released), 'The Suburbs' is an altogether pretty enjoyable album - not the one that grabs you at the first listen (or a number of them that follow), but the beauty is it manages to depict the traces it presents in the very title.

Musically, it is a nicely orchestrated collection of songs lost in a number of styles (while the obvious one leans more towards Americana, a phantom presence of Shoegaze, New Wave and Lynch/Badalamenti melancholy is also evident) - adding nice twists to the playlist.