Arcturus (2) ‎– La Masquerade Infernale

Music For Nations ‎– CDMFN 230, Misanthropy Records ‎– CDMFN 230
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

0 Untitled 1:29
1 Master Of Disguise
Backing Vocals – Simen Hestnæs
2 Ad Astra
Cornet – Idun FelbergFlute – Erik Olivier LancelotGuitar, Soloist [Additional Guitarsolos] – Carl August Tidemann
3 The Chaos Path
Lead Vocals, Lyrics By [Pennery] – Simen Hestnæs
4 La Masquerade Infernale 1:59
5 Alone
Lyrics By [Poem By] – Edgar Allan Poe
6 The Throne Of Tragedy
Lyrics By [Based On The Poem By - JHS 1996.], Translated By [Translated To English] – Jørn Henrik Sværen*
7 Painting My Horror
Backing Vocals – Simen Hestnæs
8 Of Nails And Sinners
Guitar, Soloist [Additional Guitarsolos] – Carl August Tidemann

Companies, etc.



The Throne of Tragedy is based on the poem «Tragediens Trone» by Jørn Henrik Sværen, is translated to English by the undersigned, and hereby dedicated to Kristoffer Garm Rygg.

«La Masquerade Infernale» was recorded in Jester studio during a period from the 12th month of 1996 ev. till the end of the 5th month 1997 ev. This excludes the drum takes which were engineered at Fløystøy 15 - 20th days of the 12th month 1996 ev., and string takes which took place the 1st day of the 5th month at location Endless.
The mix was masterly conducted from the 2nd til the 12th day of the 6th month 1997 ev. in Major studio.
Mastered at Strype laboratories.

«La Masquerade Infernale» is dedicated to the Perilous Quest of the Faustian Spirit.

All tracks published by Amazonian Music Publishing U.K.
The copyright in this recording is exclusively owned by Misanthropy Records.
(c) 1997 Misanthropy (p) Amazonian Music

Made In England

Ce n’est point ma façon de penser qui a fait mon malheur, c’est celle des autres. Marquis de Sade

Secret audio information can be found if sought... / Philosophy of the crazed
(Printed inside of the back insert, hinting at a pre-gap track 0 which starts at -1:29 of the first track, so you have to go back in order to access it (you cannot skip to track 0).

Track 6 has 66 index tracks.
Total running time: 45:21

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 016583 123024
  • Barcode (String): 5016583123024
  • Label Code: LC 8541
  • Distribution Code: M7.862
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, Mirrored): MASTERED BY DOCDATA CDMFN230
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): ifpi 4B21
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, Mirrored): MASTERED BY DOCdata CDMFN230
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2): none
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): none
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3, Mirrored): MASTERED BY DOCDATA CDMFN230
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI LA31
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): ifpi 4B09
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4, Mirrored): CDMFN230 · MASTERED BY DOCdata
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4, Mould Ring): π
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): ifpi 4B23
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 5, Mirrored): CDMFN230 · MASTERED BY DOCdata
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 5): none
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): A23
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 6, Mirrored): MASTERED BY DOCdata CDMFN230
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): ifpi 4B01
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 7, Mirrored): MASTERED BY DOCDATA CDMFN230
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 7, Mirrored): IFPI LA31
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 7): none

Other Versions (5 of 19) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ES 4494 Arcturus (2) La Masquerade Infernale(Cass, Album, Unofficial) CD Club ES 4494 Ukraine Unknown Sell This Version
BOBV356LP Arcturus (2) La Masquerade Infernale(2xLP, Album, Ltd, RE, Gre) Back On Black BOBV356LP UK 2013 Sell This Version
461 Arcturus (2) La Masquerade Infernale(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Angel's Of Hell Records 461 Russia 1997 Sell This Version
CDMFN 230, none Arcturus (2) La Masquerade Infernale(CD, Album, Promo) Music For Nations, Misanthropy Records CDMFN 230, none UK 1997 Sell This Version
CANUS0041CD, canus0041cd Arcturus (2) La Masquerade Infernale(CD, Album, RE) Candlelight Records USA, Candlelight Records USA CANUS0041CD, canus0041cd US 2002 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 1, 2017

Beaucoup l'adorent, pourtant cet album a été pour moi une petite déception, j'en attendais peut-être trop. Je lui mets pas moins de 4 étoiles car c'est quand même très très bon.


August 19, 2008

Can't believe noone has reviewed this gem of a record. I bought this on the strength of the Terrorizer review and wasn't disapointed in the the slightest. From the start of Masters Of Disguise you are transported on a mad etherial journey through the mind of the devil portrayed in a true prankster fashion as he "charms the guests, rides the ball" and on in to the gorgeous strings and epic guitar work on Ad Astra and on to one of the highlights of the album the Chaos Path with it's amazingly disjointed vocals, jazzy dischordance and jungle ending. The title track itself is a single piano loop with some reversed drum hits, laughter and spoken word which is a nice interlude before the blastbeats of Alone kick in and unleash a stupidly catchy anthemic melody. The Throne of Tragedy continues on this theme and Painting My Horror is just as intense although makes the mood more sombre before Of Nails & Sinners rounds things off with the classic line "and you know the voracious one was I". Sends shivers down the spine every time. The way this album is composed is flawless and the pacing and colours of each track, perfect, any fan of progressive innovative music should find something of interest here.