Arlene Phillips' Hot Gossip* ‎– Geisha Boys And Temple Girls

Dindisc ‎– DID 13, Dindisc ‎– DID13
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Soul Warfare
Piano – Steve Travell (2)Written-By – BEF*, Gregory*
A2 Houses In Motion
Producer – Geoff WestleyWritten-By – Eno*, Byrne*, Harrison*
A3 I Don't Depend On You
Guitar, Bass – John Wilson (2)Written-By – Marsh*, Ware*, Oakey*
A4 Burn For You
Written-By – Sting
B1 Geisha Boys And Temple Girls
Drums – Simon PhillipsWritten-By – BEF*, Gregory*
B2 Morale
Written-By – Marsh*, Ware*, Oakey*
B3 Word Before Last
Written-By – Marsh*, Ware*, Oakey*
B4 Circus Of Death
Written-By – Marsh*, Ware*, Oakey*

Companies, etc.



Another B.E.F. Production.

A3, A4, B2, B3, B4. Recorded at Trident
A1. Recorded at The Townhouse and Trident
A2. Recorded at Odyssey and Trident
B1. Recorded at Sheffield and Trident

A1, B1: Dinsong / Virgin Music (Publishers) Ltd / Sound Diagrams
A2: E.G. Music / Warner Bros Music
A3, B6, B7, B8: Dinsong / Virgin Music (Publishers) Ltd
A4: Virgin Music (Publishers) Ltd

Photography - courtesy of JVC

Tracks are numbered 1 through 8 on release.

Arlene Phillips' Hot Gossip appears on front and spine of sleeve; Hot Gossip appears on labels.
DID13 appears on back of sleeve, spine; DID 13 appears on labels.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Etched A side): DID-13 · A.5 BILBO · TA1PE 4 4 GIZZx
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched B side): DID-13 . B- 5 BILBO · TA1PE
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped A & B sides): Λ
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped A side): (unknown digits look like 6 and dots)
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped B side): (2 unknown digits look like C I)

Other Versions (5 of 6) View All



Add Review



October 17, 2012
edited over 8 years ago
While Martyn Ware and Ian Marsh deserve lots of respect for their post-punk contributions to the history of modern (electro) pop, their ambitions in the post-League MK I production duties show also worrying sings, of which this, Hot Gossip's lonesome LP attempt is one of the worst in their catalogue. To squeeze absolutely everyone into this kind of musical (synthetic) frame can sometimes be so misleading and appalingly boring. Personally, as an admirer of their early BEF/Heaven 17 work, I remember being particularly intrigued by this album (as well as "Music of Quality & Distinction" V/A LP), only to face the absolute bottom line of one such effort(less) feature. Ware and Marsh team up with the Arlene Phillips' dance troupe, hoping to re-gain, at least some of the mass public's interest in earlier HL material, helped along with the synth-pop hype - at the time fired up with Human League MK II massive success of "Dare!".

However, while the idea behind such a concept is not at all bad, and could have delivered a far more intriguing set of early HL updates, "Geisha Boys & Temple Girls", from the performance perspective of a TV dance troupe of 1981 is a downright miss with very little (if anything) to offer. The vocals, whether male or female, are so flat, shallow and boringly generic - but it's not the only problem; Ware and Marsh here sound so stuck up their own arses, trying to prove how "real" their music can actually sound (not) when over-exploited and overblown, either synthetically or with real instruments added.

Musically, this album couldn't have sounded more dated - and comparing Hot Gossip's versions of "Circus Of Death", "The Word Before Last" - even "I Don't Depend On You" - to the timeless (and of course, superior) originals, brings the impression of nothing short of a total self-parody. "Soul Warfare" and "Geisha Boys" themselves, needless to say, feature some of the original sounds borrowed straight off Heaven 17's "Penthouse & Pavement" album ("Soul Warfare" is actually a straight-forward karaoke version). But to show how horrible it can actually get, try and listen to the troupe's attempt at rendering Talking Heads' "Houses In Motion" - and you'll get just another reason worth nailing down this LP coffin deep into the ground and forget it ever existed for the inanity of it all.