Arthur Russell ‎– Wild Combination - A Portrait Of Arthur Russell

Plexifilm ‎– 033 plexifilm
DVD, NTSC, All Region


1 The World Of Arthur Russell
2 Oskaloosa
3 Buddhist Bubblegum
4 Welcome To New York
5 The Kitchen
6 Tom Lee
7 Disco & Go Bang
8 Grownups Are Crazy
9 World Of Echo
10 Good Sport
11 Time To Come Home Now
12 Love Is Overtaking Me
13 Wild Combination
A Soon To Be Innocent Fun/Let's See
B Calling All Kids
C Sneakers
D A Little Lost
E That's Us/Wild Combination
F Our Last Night Together
G The Letter
H Allen Ginsberg
I San Francisco Cassette


WILD COMBINATION is director Matt Wolf's visually absorbing portrait of the seminal avant-garde composer, singer-songwriter, cellist, and disco producer Arthur Russell. Before his untimely death from AIDS in 1992, Arthur prolifically created music that spanned both pop and the transcendent possibilities of abstract art. Now, over fifteen years since his passing, Arthur's work is being embraced by new and ever growing audiences. Wolf incorporates rare archival footage and commentary from Arthur's family, friends, and closest collaborators, including Philip Glass and Allen Ginsberg to tell this poignant and important story.

The DVD includes 65 minutes of extras include:
- Rare archival footage of two full-length performances, "Soon to be Innocent Fun / Let's See" (1985) and "Calling All Kids" (1989)
- Allen Ginsberg: A Memorial for Arthur Russel (1992)
- 1970 recording of an audicassette letter sent from Arthur in San Francisco to this parents.
- Tribute performances of Russell's songs by Jens Lekman, Verity Susman from Electrelane, Joel Gibb from Hidden Cameras, and Arthur's Landing (featuring members of Modern Lovers, Joyce Bowden and Steven Hall).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 08235400462