Arturo Toscanini, NBC Symphony Orchestra ‎– Nine Beethoven Symphonies

RCA Victor Red Seal ‎– LM-6901
7 × Vinyl, LP
Box Set


Symphony No. 1, In C, Op. 21
A1 Adagio Molto; Allegro Con Brio
A2 Andante Cantabile Con Moto
A3 Menuetto; Allegro Molto E Vivace
A4 Adagio; Allegro Molto E Vivace
Symphony No. 2, In D, Op. 36
B1 Adagio Molto; Allegro Con Brio
B2 Larghetto
B3 Scherzo
B4 Allegro Molto
Symphony No. 3, In E-Flat, Op. 55
C1 Allegro Con Brio
C2 Marcia Funebre Adagio Assai
D1 Scherzo; Allegro Vivace; Trio
D2 Finale Allegro Molto; Poco Andante; Presto
Symphony No. 4, In B-Flat, Op 60
E1 Adagio; Allegro Vivace
E2 Adagio
E3 Menuetto; Allegro Vivace Trio: Un Poco Meno Allegro
E4 Allegro Ma Non Troppo
Symphony No. 5, In C Minor, Op. 67
F1 Allegro Con Brio
F2 Andante Con Moto
F3.1 Allegro
F3.2 Allegro
Symphony No. 6, In F, Op. 68
G1 Allegro Ma Non Troppo
G2 Andante Molto Mosso
H1 Allegro
H2 Allegro
H3 Allegretto
Symphony No. 7, In A, Op. 92
I1 Poco Sostenuto; Vivace
I2 Allegretto
J1 Assai Meno Presto Presto
J2 Allegro Con Brio
Symphony No. 8, In F, Op. 93
K1 Allegro Vivace E Con Brio
K2 Allegretto Scherzando
K3 Tempo Di Menuetto
K4 Allegro Vivace
Symphony No. 9, In D Minor, Op. 125
L1 Allegro Ma Non Troppo, Un Poco Maestoso
M1 Molto Vivace
M2 Adagio Molto E Cantebile; Andante Moderato; Adagio
N1 Presto; Allegro Ma Non Troppo; Allegro Assai Presto; Allegro Assai Vivace, Alla Marcia' Andante Maestoso Allegro Energico Sempre Ben Marcato Allegro Ma Non Tanto; Poco Adagio; Prestissimo

Companies, etc.



Label variant with "High Fidelity" below spindle hole.

Recorded Nov. 1949 to Nov. 1952. "Excerpt for Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5, which were taken down directly from NBC Symphony broadcasts on Feb. 3, 1951 and Mar. 22, 1952, respectively, the recordings were made in Carnegie Hall, New York.

This release was issued as a laid in box container and a full sized 24 page Program, w/last 5 pages of discography list of Toscanini LP recordings to date.

Note: 1st pressings issued w/plum labels and have dark brownish color around "Shaded Dog". Lp's originally housed in rice sleeves. Bottom label edge text has "Long 33⅓ Play"

Records are pressed for record changers.

A minor variation in 1958 with a different label exists Nine Beethoven Symphonies

Also re-released in 1963 with new artwork and labels Nine Beethoven Symphonies / Overtures / Others

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): LP 6901-1 / E2RP-4104
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): LM 6901-2 / E2RP-4360
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): LM 6901-3 / E0LRC-3814
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): LM 6901-4 / E0LRC-3815
  • Matrix / Runout (Side E): LM 6901-5 / E2RP-4361
  • Matrix / Runout (Side F): LM 6901-6 / E2RP-4362
  • Matrix / Runout (Side G): LP 6901-7 / E2RP-4288
  • Matrix / Runout (Side H): LP 6901-7 / E2RP-4289
  • Matrix / Runout (Side I): LM 6901-6 / E2RP-4290
  • Matrix / Runout (Side J): LM 6901-5 / E2RP-4291
  • Matrix / Runout (Side K): LM 6901-4 / E2RP-4363
  • Matrix / Runout (Side L): LM 6901-3 / E2RP-4097
  • Matrix / Runout (Side M): LM 6901-2 / E2RP-4098
  • Matrix / Runout (Side N): LM 6901-1 / E2RP-4099
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped Mastering Facility): I (Cap. Letter)