Atjazz ‎– Labfunk

Mantis Recordings ‎– MANTCD001
CD, Album


1 Day 2001 5:39
2 Strike 7:19
3 Kidnapped 7:12
4 All That 9:02
5 It’s Complete 7:12
6 Interlude 1:02
7 Harmony 7:21
8 Heavy Weather 7:20
9 Casa De Ilusion 6:04
10 Labfunk 6:38
11 Touch The Sun 7:13


Made in England

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Original Barcode): 5023903961709
  • Barcode (Sticker Barcode): 3597491374521

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MANTLP001 Atjazz Labfunk(2xLP, Album) Mantis Recordings MANTLP001 UK 2001 Sell This Version
MANTCD001 Atjazz Labfunk(CD, Album) Mantis Recordings MANTCD001 Canada 2001 Sell This Version
ATJAZZ01 Atjazz Labfunk(CD, Album) Collision Records (2) ATJAZZ01 Australia 2001 Sell This Version
MANTLP001 Atjazz Labfunk(2xLP, Album, W/Lbl) Mantis Recordings MANTLP001 UK 2001 Sell This Version



Add Review



March 1, 2004

I really can't praise this album enough -- it's so sunny, so bright, so enthusiastic. Atjazz has outdone himself -- the jazz elements are more pronounced, and the addition of live instruments, especially the horns, goes to show the care that went into the crafting of these songs. Dancey without being boring, jazzy without being noodley. "It's Complete" is a moody song about heartbreak, yet even that gets caught up in the funk vibe. Plenty of club fodder (for the more discriminating DJ), but I prefer listening to this at home. My absolute favorite on the album is "Strike." Starts off with a broken 4/4 beat and adds a wobbly bass. A flute melody pipes in, but then the track just expands exponentially up when the horns blow in, especially during the final riff.