Atom™ ‎– Winterreise

Raster-Noton ‎– R-N 140
CD, Album


1 Winterreise 6:04
2 Voralpenthema 3:10
3 Streuung Teil I 7:00
4 Streuung Teil II 1:08
5 Streuung Teil III 1:09
Drei Schneewalzer
6 Prolog 0:54
7 Drei Schneewalzer Teil I 4:02
8 Drei Schneewalzer Teil II 1:05
9 Drei Schneewalzer Teil III 2:30
10 Streuung Teil IV 2:11
11 Ein Winterabend In Der Bowman Suite 3:26
12 Tiefebene 7:26
13 Voralpenthema II 2:02
Gauß'sche Landaufnahme
14 Gauß'sche Landaufnahme Teil I 1:57
15 Gauß'sche Landaufnahme Teil II 0:51
16 Gauß'sche Landaufnahme Teil III 3:15
17 Schneewalzer Epilog 2:46

Companies, etc.


  • Design [Gestaltung], Typography [Satz]Atom™, Olaf Bender
  • Written-By, Producer, Programmed By, Performer [Played By], Edited By, Mixed By, Mastered By, Photography ByAtom™


Verlegt durch den Freibank Musikverlag in Hamburg und raster-noton. edition, Berlin.

Alle Stücke auf "Winterreise" wurden componiert, arrangiert, aufgenommen und abgemischt sowie zur Reproduktion aufgearbeitet in der Bowman Suite zu Santiago de Chile.

© 2012 raster-noton. archiv für musik und nichtton

Soundtrack to a photo series with the same title. Previously released on Playbutton.

Packaging: oversized card slipcase in a protective cellophane jacket.
Includes four photo cards from the 'Winterreise' photo series and one card with a quote in German from Friedrich Nietzsche's 'Die fröhliche Wissenschaft' ('The Gay Science').

Barcode printed on jacket sticker.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (On sticker): 4 260115 991402
  • Barcode (Scanned): 4260115991402
  • Matrix / Runout: CA RN140 @ IFPI L039 03/12/12 09:45:46 PM
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L039
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 1287
  • Rights Society: gema
  • Label Code: lc 01293

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



May 6, 2012
It is impractical for me to go over Uwe Schmidt‘s discography. You may attempt to cover the span of his output yourself, by starting with his 1993 releases as Atom Heart on Fax label, then covering his late 90s latin electro output as Señor Coconut, and finally arriving at his latest moniker, Atom™. Schmidt’s releases on his very own imprint, Rather Interesting, explore the abstract caverns of electronic music, finally landing the project on Raster-Noton, with 2009 Liedgut. The music unraveled in Liedgut yielded a series of photographs within the contextual framework of the album. The series was exhibited in Tokyo and Frankfurt in 2011 under the name Winterreise. The sonic accompaniment on the album is the audio soundtrack to these photographs. Although the glitchy and static noise on the album may at first appear purely digital and cold, there is a touch of classicism in the work, with a nod to Franz Schubert‘s same titled song cycle for voice and piano. “With a balance between the romantic and the scientific, this album evokes, not just accompanies the visual aspect of the Winterreise project in a perfect manner, by painting grainy sonic images that visualize the tradition and the future of the romantic subconscious.” The CD edition of the album comes with postcards depicting the exhibited images, so make sure to get a physical copy directly from the label. There’s also a limited edition of original art prints of the Winterreise photos, available at the r-n shop. Hauntingly beautiful. Music for the ghost in the machine…