Atrium Carceri ‎– Seishinbyouin

Cold Meat Industry ‎– CMI133
CD, Album


1 In Chaos Eternal 4:13
2 Illusion Breaks 4:23
3 Hidden Crimes 5:22
4 Incubation 2:58
5 Twisted Foetus 5:36
6 Warden 2:42
7 Dark Water 4:09
8 Atmosfear 4:58
9 Isolation 4:36
10 Victim 3:16
11 Librarian 4:20
12 The Call 5:17
13 Escape 4:23
14 Frosted Snowflakes 4:31

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured BySony DADC – A0100557979-0101



"Seishinbyouin" is a Japanese term that means "Lunatic Asylum" in English.

Made in European Union.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 350020 545016
  • Barcode (String): 7350020545016
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L551
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 94K6
  • Matrix / Runout: Sony DADC A0100557979-0101 11 A1

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
none Atrium Carceri Seishinbyouin(14xFile, MP3, Album, RE, 320) Cryo Chamber none Sweden 2012
CRYO 052 Atrium Carceri Seishinbyouin(CD, Album, RE) Cryo Chamber CRYO 052 US 2017 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



April 11, 2009

Atrium Carceri's second album is even better than the first. The theme this time is in an Insane Asylum (Seishinbyouin literally means mental hospital) and it is the sort of music than could send you there. The horror this time is a whole different brand. Whereas the first album created a feeling of fear based on your loneliness amongst the hellish ghosts in the abandoned prison, this album clearly focuses on the recesses of your mind. The voices that whisper to you & the demons that lurk with your soul. There are Japanese voices throughout that must feel like a schizophrenic part of your own personality that you can't quite understand.

The dark voice in In Chaos Eternal starts us on that journey as it feels like a dark voice from within telling me evil things beyond my comprehension. That feeling is continued in Illusion Breaks which also has a creepy dripping sound like a dank dark cell. The Piano in Hidden Crimes adds a really human touch, the melody is in itself quite pleasant but when mixed with the cold wind & the dark voices it just sounds spooky. The harshness of Incubation is right from the sample to the groaning sounds of a machine brain to the orchestral strings that while smooth really cut a harsh picture in my mind. Twisted Foetus just makes me want to scream out, the slight melody on some slight string permeates through harsh groaning drones, whispers of evil power & the dark underlying pain of self awareness. The power of Warden is huge. It's the most driven and rhythmical track has harsh synths that seem to cut through the brain like a scythe chopping the dead wood off. The low piano keys in Dark Water are as ominous as the scuttling sounds are creepy. The choir pick up after those are banished but it only adds to the feeling of unease. Atmosfear I guess tries to create a scary atmosphere but ends up a little too cluttered & while still very atmospheric, it doesn't sound as scary as the rest until the latter half where the orchestral strings come in creepy as hell. The feeling of isolation in Isolation is overpowered by the feeling that something unknown & unseen is lurking beneath the surface of your thoughts while Victim has a conversation in Japanese between the first meeting between a psychiatric nurse & a patient in the hospital, due to the conversation I'm left unsure as to who is or who will be the victim. Librarian has the first English in it Don't Be Scared which of course has the opposite effect than what you assume is the desired result from the words especially as the screaming starts, not as someone in pain but as someone in complete turmoil & mental anguish. After that brief hope we descend into more despair with The Call a female patient cries out to a male patient unbelieving of her fate and needing reassurance. What she gets though are cold hard truths of what is happening, apologetically. Escape has the dark feeling of underground sewers but still with creepy inner voices & Frosted Snowflakes saves the best for last, the trippiest conversation promising that things are alright when they are quite obviously not. The pulsating bass rhythm & the chimes sounding exciting my own personal fear that I will die among the sound of silent bells.

What this has over Cellblock is flow, there is much more between each track creating a more hypnotic feeling & you feel more immersed in the nightmare. This is definitely top notch 10/10 dark ambient. If you want to have nightmares then play this before you go to bed. I did & I had the most amazingly dark twisted dreams. Try it!


July 24, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
Atrium Carceri's 2nd album began to expand the dark ambient sound he created with his first album. Seishinbyouin's theme is a insane asylum. The first album, Cellblock, created a feeling of being alone... This album is quite different. Almost every track has voices in it, most which are in a different lanquage (japanese I believe) which adds to the fear because while you're imagining yourself at this asylum.. You're also imagining yourself unable to communicate with the others there. The others would appear to be people who want to cause you harm! This album has a cinematic quality to it.


January 16, 2006
edited over 12 years ago

Atrium Carceri's 2nd album only expands on what made Cellblock such an experience. Seishinbyouin's theme is a rusty old asylum. Like AT's previous album, this album sets the mood and atmosphere as to what it would be like to actually be there. This time around there is 14 tracks which adds about an extra 10 to 15 minutes on ambient goodness. This album uses a lot of japanese samples that are clouded in the backgrounds of the tracks. I'm not sure if they are from movies or anime, but they add to the scary intensity of the album because its almost as if you're locked in an asylum room yourself with people outside communicating in a lanquage you don't understand. If you enjoyed Cellblock, you're in for a real treat with this follow-up.