Aura (19) ‎– Aura (A.K.A. Sativa)

Lion Productions ‎– LION LP-118
Vinyl, LP, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 You Got Something
Trumpet – Tom Poole
A2 Clap Your Hands 2:40
A3 First Taste Of Love
Trumpet – Tom Poole
A4 It's A Feeling
Trumpet – Tom Poole
A5 Gonna Make It 3:20
B1 Sativa
Trumpet – Tom Poole
B2 Mess Up Your Mind 2:45
B3 Don't You Worry 3:17
B4 Trying To Hold It Down 2:36
B5 Skyrocket
Guitar – Phil Scoma



From the Lion Productions website:

Official replica vinyl edition of this oft-sampled slab of Bay Area history, a psych funk masterpiece that cannot be denied. Aura formed in 1974 and played extensively throughout Northern California. By 1976, the band recorded their first and only album at Pacific Recording Studio in San Mateo. The original title of the album was meant to be "Sativa", but out of fear that promoting the joys of marijuana would be too controversial, the band omitted the title and just left it as "Aura". Over the ensuing decades, the Aura album has grown in stature to become a major soul/funk collector's item. It features a number of major funk tracks plus funky ballads with female vocals. Standouts include 'Sativa' (replete with water-pipe sound effects and blistering guitar), and the manic fuzz-guitar jam 'Skyrocket.' Old style tip-on jacket and quality limited edition vinyl pressing, mastered from the original tapes.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 778578311810

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CH-001 Aura (19) The Aura(LP) Chakra Records (2) CH-001 US 1977 Sell This Version
CICD-1076 Aura (19) The Aura(CD, Album) Cicadelic Records CICD-1076 US 2011 Sell This Version
1302 Aura (19) The Aura(LP, Album) Wizard (7) 1302 US 1977 Sell This Version