BBC Radiophonic Workshop ‎– Doctor Who - The Music

BBC Records And Tapes ‎– C22462
Cassette, Stereo

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Ron Grainer Tardis - Doctor Who
Arranged By – Delia DerbyshireFeaturing [Tardis Sounds] – Brian Hodgson
A2 Malcolm Clarke The Sea Devils
Featuring [Special Sounds] – Brian Hodgson
A3 Peter Howell Meglos
A4 Roger Limb Nyssa's Theme
A5 Roger Limb Kassia's Wedding Music
A6 Roger Limb The Threat Of Melkur
A7 Roger Limb Exploring The Lab
A8 Roger Limb Nyssa Is Hypnotized
A9 Peter Howell The Leisure Hive
B1 Roger Limb Omega Field Force
B2 Roger Limb Ergon Threat
B3 Roger Limb Termination Of The Doctor
B4 Peter Howell Banqueting Music
B5 Peter Howell TSS Machine Attacked
B6 Peter Howell Janissary Band
B7 Malcolm Clarke Subterranean Caves
B8 Malcolm Clarke Requiem
B9 Malcolm Clarke March Of The Cybermen
B10 Ron Grainer Doctor Who
Arranged By – Peter Howell

Companies, etc.



The BBC Radiophonic Workshop's long association with the Doctor Who series began with the Signature Tune for the very first programme. Ron Grainer provided the composition notes and the Workshop did the rest.

During the past 20 years, the Workshop has provided all the special sounds and latterly the incidental music for the past three series. Most famous sounds are, of course, the Tardis materialisation and dematerialisation sounds (not an elephant in labour, but the strings of an old piano recorded and treated) and treatment of speech which produced Dalek voices. Brian Hodgson was creator of the sounds for the first nine years, since which time Dick Mills has continued the tradition still making full use of the Workshop's synthesizers and acoustically recorded real sounds.

The incidental music on this LP was composed by Malcolm Clarke, Peter Howell and Roger Limb on a shared basis over the series, which accounts for the varying styles of composition but which are nevertheless just what the Doctor ordered.

All titles BBC Copyright except 'Doctor Who' signature tune.