BBC Radiophonic Workshop ‎– The Soundhouse: Music From The BBC Radiophonic Workshop

BBC Records ‎– REC 467
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Howell*, Limb*, Gibbs*, Clarke*, Parker* & Mills* Radiophonic Rock
A2 Peter Howell Lascaux
Flute – Sebastian Bell
A3 Jonathan Gibbs Computers In The Real World
A4 Dick Mills Seascape
A5 Paddy Kingsland The Whale
A6 Roger Limb Rallyman
Drums – Peter York*
A7 Dick Mills Catch The Wind
A8 Malcolm Clarke Believe It Or Not
Trombone – Eddie Lorkin
A9 Elizabeth Parker Planet Earth
A10 Jonathan Gibbs Dawn
B1 Peter Howell Mainstream
Arranged By – Peter Howell
B2 Malcolm Clarke The Unseeing Eye
B3 Peter Howell & Dick Mills Fancy Fish
Arranged By – Mills*, Howell*Composed By – Saint-Saëns*
B4 Paddy Kingsland Brighton Pier
B5 Dick Mills Armagiddean War Games
B6 Roger Limb Yellow Moon
B7 Elizabeth Parker Radio Blackburn
B8 Dick Mills Macrocosm
B9 Peter Howell Land And People
B10 Jonathan Gibbs Houdin's Musical Box
Arranged By – J. Gibbs*Written-By – A. Le Carpentier*
B11 Roger Limb Ghost In The Water
Cello – Hilary Jones
B12 Malcolm Clarke The Milonga



Recordings produced by The BBC Radiophonic Workshop.

From sleeve notes, Roger Limb April 1983:

"From time to time, the BBC Radiophonic Workshop and BBC Records have issued L.P. compilations presenting a cross-section of output of the Workshop. The last retrospective album was released in 1979 on the occasion of the Workshop's 21st anniversary. Here nowise a new collection of tracks illustrating some of the work that has been completed at the Workshop in the 4 years since then. The most significant advances in technique since 1979 have been in the field of computer technology and at the Workshop we are now using the Fairlight Computer Synthesizer examples of which can be heard on this record. There a couple of other new departures here too. We have, of course, for many years incorporated into our work, when appropriate, musicians playing conventional instruments. There are 4 examples of blending of electronic and conventional music in this collection. We have also have a rather unique Radiophonic event. Each composer has taken a rhythmic percussive sequence from the Fairlight, and written about half a minute of their own music around it. This musical 'autograph album' is the track 'Radiophonic Rock' [Track 1].

Despite technological process, the Radiophonic Workshop is still what it was when it first came into existence 25 years ago, a creative service department supplying special sound and music to BBC programme makers. In 25 years from now, who knows what sounds will be heard coming from behind the doors of our corridor in BBC's Maida Vale studios? One thing is certain, the new technology makes the road ahead an interesting one."


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 25, 2013
edited over 3 years ago
80s digital sampler era, great use of space. Theres meant to be a lot of the Fairlight Computer Synthesizer here, a synth beloved of the later and final members of the BBC Radiophonic workshop. I can hear PPG in Elizabeth Parkers tracks. Dick Mills - Macrocosm, to my ears features the Yamaha DX7 or at least FM synth.


June 7, 2012
Interesting collection.
Great vocoder on 'Mainstream'