Perfecto ‎– 3984-20065-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Firewater
Recorded By, Arranged By [Strings] – Simon HaleVoice [Part I] – T.H. CulhaneVoice [Part III] – BT
2 Orbitus Teranium 8:11
3 Flaming June
Producer [Additional], Remix – BT, Paul van Dyk
4 The Road To Lostwithiel 8:35
5 Memories In A Sea Of Forgetfulness
Mixed By – BT, Steven BarkanWritten-By – BT, T.H. Culhane
6 Solar Plexus
Bass, Guitar, Drums, Vocals – BTMixed By – BT, Jason Corsaro
7 Nectar
Bass, Vocoder – B. Transeau*
8 Remember
Flamenco Guitar – Vinnie Reilly*Producer, Engineer – B. Transeau*Recorded By, Arranged By [Strings] – Simon HaleVocals – Jan JohnstonWritten-By – B. Transeau*, Jan Johnston
9 Love, Peace And Grease 5:21
10.1 Content 8:50
10.2 Flaming June (Reprise) 1:13

Companies, etc.



Track 10 is actually 10:51 long, and contains a hidden track after "Content" at 9:38 which is a beatless reprise of "Flaming June".

This album was mixed on a Mackie 32 by 8, and Yamaha Pro-Mix 02's This recording is best suited to a nice pair of Sony MDR-7506 headphones.

Sequenced on Protools with some plug-ins you won't be hearing about for years.

Made in Germany by Warner Manufacturing Europe. A Time Warner Company.

The copyright in this sound recording is owned by Warner Music UK Ltd.

℗ 1997 Warner Music UK Ltd. © 1997 Warner Music UK Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 3984-20065-2 1
  • Barcode (String): 639842006521
  • Rights Society: GEMA/BIEM
  • Label Code: LC 1557
  • Price Code: EW 851
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1 & 2): 3984420065-2.2 08/97
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2 & 3): IFPI L012
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): [Warner logo] 3984420065-2.2 08/97
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0539
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0570
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0548

Other Versions (5 of 8) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
9 46799-4, 4-46799 BT ESCM(Cass, Album) Perfecto, Perfecto 9 46799-4, 4-46799 US 1997 Sell This Version
AMCE-2379 BT ESCM(CD, Album) EastWest Japan AMCE-2379 Japan 1997 Sell This Version
PROP260, 3984-20065-2 BT E.S.C.M.(CD, Promo, CD ) Perfecto, Perfecto PROP260, 3984-20065-2 UK 1997 Sell This Version
3984-20934-1 BT ESCM(2xLP) Perfecto 3984-20934-1 UK 1997 Sell This Version
none BT ESCM(Cass, Promo) Perfecto none UK 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 7 Reviews

Add Review



August 24, 2018
Most peculiar, but Road to Lostwithel seems to be a vinyl rip. At first I thought it was a "bad" mastering and was just clipping from distortion in places, but turns out not to be the case. It happens during the quiet breakdown at the 5:30 - 6:00 mark, there are crackles and pops clear as day if you load up the waveform in audition/favourite DAW. you can see/hear them quite clearly. Weird.


August 13, 2017

I gonna say that this album is Extraordinary, Sublime, Classic and Magnificent. From start to finish, it's all about trance melodies and solid breakbeats.
"Flaming June" is a superb trance classic, with the outro "Content" being in the same vein. The intro "Firewater" and "Memories in a Sea of Forgerfulness" got some arab chorus which fit perfectly with the airy notes, while "The Road to Lostwithiel" has a drum and bass tempo and this song sums up the meaning of "feeling good" pretty well. At last, "Love, Peace And Grease" is the sole big beat piece of the CD.
It is impossible to feel anything but satisfaction while listening. Happy 20th birthday "ESCM" !


March 27, 2017
Nectar is worth a listen - there is something special there


July 1, 2014

I just put this on after not listening to it for many years. Man, I don't remember the last time I danced that hard without being drunk.


August 9, 2011

Despite BT being a trance pioneer, ESCM is almost anything but trance. Only 3 tracks (Flaming June, Nectar & Content) are trance, while the rest is a mix of Drum 'n Bass (The Road To Lostwithiel, Memories in a Sea of Forgetfulness), breakbeats (almost everything else). Even rock gets a show case here (Solar Plexus). I don't mind though, because most of the tunes are pretty good.

The album isn't perfect. "Solar Plexus" feels out of place. It's also disjointed, ending abrubtly with piano and soft vocals dor the second half of the track. Some tracks, strangely enough, also builds up for something and never quite follows up on it. Everyone knows "Flaming June", but for whatever reason it ends with a very small drum 'n bass version. It sounds pretty good, but it's just sad that the album doesn't follow up on it. "Memories in a Sea of Forgetfulness" starts building up with live drums and rock guitars, then goes over to a drum 'n bass beat (that is a bit more relaxed than what the track build itself up too), and middle eastern vocals.

Those complaints aside, it is a pretty good album, and a nice follow up to Ima. Today, it may seem a bit outdated (less than Ima however). The live drums sounds a bit weird at times, and the production valves, while good, seems a bit weird too. Especially Solar Plexus where I could hardly make out the lyrics, among other things. The usual BT production style (time stretching and all that) isn't present either, though that's not a bad thing, nessecairly. One thing does become aparrent though. It's a shame that BT today, isn't as experimental and genre threading as he used to be. What's presented here may sound a bit outdated, but it's 10 times more interesting than almost anything he has done in the 2000's (save aside This Binary Universe)

To end this review. It's a great album, with a few flaws, that shouldn't ruin the album over all.