The Beach Boys ‎– Spirit Of America

Capitol Records ‎– SVBB-11384
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Dance, Dance, Dance 2:05
A2 Break Away
Written-By – B. Wilson*, R. Dunbar*
A3 A Young Man Is Gone
Written-By – Bobby Troup
A4 409
Written-By – B. Wilson*, G. Usher*
A5 The Little Girl I Once Knew 2:36
A6 Spirit Of America
Written-By – B. Wilson*, R. Christian*
B1 Little Honda
Written-By – B. Wilson*, M. Love*
B2 Hushabye
Written-By – D. Pomus*, M. Schuman*
B3 Hawaii 2:02
B4 Drive-In 1:50
B5 Good To My Baby 2:16
B6 Tell Me Why
Written-By – J. Lennon-P. McCartney*
C1 Do You Remember? 1:37
C2 This Car Of Mine
Written-By – B. Wilson*, M. Love*
C3 Please Let Me Wonder
Written-By – B. Wilson*, M. Love*
C4 Why Do Fools Fall In Love
Written-By – F. Lymon*, G. Goldner*
C5 Custom Machine 1:40
D1 Barbara Ann
Written-By – Fred Fassert
D2 Salt Lake City 2:00
D3 Don't Back Down 1:50
D4 When I Grow Up (To Be A Man) 2:02
D5 Do You Wanna Dance?
Written-By – Bobby Freeman
D6 Graduation Day
Written-By – J. Sherman*, N. Sherman*

Companies, etc.



All selections contained herein were previously released on various Capitol singles and albums.
℗ 1975 Capitol Records, Inc.
Printed in U.S.A.
Manufactured by Capitol Records, Inc. A Subsidiary of Capitol Industries-EMI, Inc., Hollywood, California.
Factories: Los Angeles, California; Jacksonville, Illinois; Winchester, Virginia.

All tracks BMI, except track A3 ASCAP

A = Record 1, Side 1
B = Record 2, Side 2
C = Record 2, Side 3
D = Record 1, Side 4

Gatefold sleeve, includes custom sticker showing song titles on back of sleeve. Position of sticker placed on back of sleeve may vary, but intended to appear as being spoken from the mouth of superhero on sleeve. Another similar release exists with cat# SVBB-11384 with slightly different labels and sleeve includes illustration of MICKEY MOUSE character credit not included on this issue.
Also a Columbia House issue exists Spirit Of America with cat# SVBB-511384.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side 1): SVBB 1-11384
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side 2): SVBB 2-11384
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side 3): SVBB 3-11384
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, Side 4): SVBB 4-11384
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Etched, Side 1): SVBB-1-11384-J9 . -------◄
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Etched, Side 2): SVBB-2-11384-J10 . -------◄
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Etched, Side 3): SVBB-3-11384-J9 #4 . -------◄
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Etched, Side 4): KP SVBB-4-11384-F2 #4 . -------◄
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, Stamped, All Sides): MASTERED BY CAPITOL
  • Rights Society: BMI, ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 20) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SVBB-11384 The Beach Boys Spirit Of America(2xLP, Comp) Capitol Records SVBB-11384 US Unknown Sell This Version
1C 152-81 887/88 The Beach Boys Spirit Of America(2xLP, Comp) Capitol Records 1C 152-81 887/88 Germany 1975 Sell This Version
SVBB-11384 The Beach Boys Spirit Of America(2xLP, Comp, RE, Gat) Capitol Records SVBB-11384 US Unknown Sell This Version
SVBB-11384 The Beach Boys Spirit Of America(2xLP, Comp, RE, Gat) Capitol Records SVBB-11384 US Unknown Sell This Version
VMP 1007 The Beach Boys Spirit Of America(LP, Comp) Capitol Records VMP 1007 UK Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



January 8, 2013
edited over 4 years ago
As with it's predecessor 1974's Endless Summer, the USA release was a double album compilation, but this time using 23 tracks made up as: 3 sides of 6 tracks, and 1 side of 5. Again the UK version was a single album of 11 tracks and 12 tracks rerspectively (again mastering, cutting and sonically the UK release has a very tight *GPI/spiral and thus very quiet audio) Both original releases come with the Salmon Pink and Green Logo text labels and again neither stated the audio-modes/sonics, which are as follows:-

Disc 1 (Side 1)
1. Mono-Duophonic (non-directional audio wash)
2. Stereo
3. Mono
4. Mono-Duophonic
5. Mono-Duophonic
6. Stereo

Disc 2 (Side 2)
1. Stereo (centred vocals)
2. Stereo (Mono backing track)
3. Stereo
4. Stereo (Mono backing track)
5. Duophonic (non-directional audio wash)
6. Duophonic (non-directional audio wash)

Disc 1 (Side 3)
1. Stereo (centred vocals)
2. Stereo (Mono backing track)
3. Mono-Duophonic (non-directional audio wash)
4. Mono-Duophonic (non directional audio wash)
5. Stereo (Mono backing track)

Disc 2 (Side 4)
1. Mono-Duophonic (longer fade-out edit of the 7" single mix)
2. Mono-Duophonic
3. Stereo
4. Mono-Duophonic
5. Mono-Duophonic (non-directional audio wash)
6. Stereo.

Break-Away was UK re-released (first time here) in its true Stereo mix as part of the Becah Boys Singles Collection using the retro-ish Black on Red with the "Capitol" dome and stars logo labels.

Track Breakdown: 23 tracks :1 Mono :11 Mono-Duophonic (6 of which are a dreadful wash of non-directional or clear sound bearing in mind that the Beach Boys ARE their vocals and 3 part harmonies totally lost in Duophonics and other tamperings) :5 True Stereo mixes :2 Stereo backing tracks under centred (mono) vocals :4 Stereo Vocal mixes over mono mixed backing tracks.

This sonics of this compilation are just quite simply revolting and do not do the Boys any justice, the saving grace is of course the gatefold USA sleeve it just captures the moment and what the Beach Boys are, and as an album an odd but enjoyable curio) To open the project with the worst Duophonic wash of sound was not the best idea and when track 2 which is true stereo hits it just makes what you have listened to as quite un-listenable and rather foolish.

IMHO, as a dedicated Beach Boys fan including David Marks, (his book is a must have for all fans), There needs to be a proper 50 track Capitol masters (5 vinyl album set) of true vocal and backing stereo mixes of their greatest volume of works, then all the other over-compilations that are made up as 'S.O.A.' is of a mish-mash of sonics and mixes that are just NOT up to the mark and do not show and re-play the amazing and incredible 3 part harmonies that ARE the Beach Boys (thank goodness for the live albums).

(Personal note: I hope this factual information re Spirit Of America audio modes/sonics is of some use to members, I have added it as an enhancement NOT as a replacement or critic of the original lister who did not submit any of the information that I have now added)

I have no idea as to the CD sonics or if new tapes and or masters have been used in making the AAD master.

*GPI Grooves Per Inch the industry standards allowance for acceptable and minimal sonics and reproduction in relation to "bleed through" and tracking.