The English Beat* ‎– Wha'ppen?

Go-Feet Records ‎– 31081-2, London Records ‎– 31081-2
CD, Album, Remastered, Reissue


1 Too Nice To Talk To
2 Doors Of Your Heart
3 All Out To Get You
4 Monkey Murders
5 I Am Your Flag
6 French Toast (Soleil Trop Chaud)
7 Drowning
8 Dreamhome In NZ
9 Walk Away
10 Over And Over
11 Cheated
12 Get-A-Job
13 The Limits We Set



Originally Released On Vinyl In 1981.
Digitally Remastered In 1999 From Original Masters By Bob Sargeant At The Townhouse Studio, London, UK.

Artwork is different than original release.

Other Versions (5 of 44) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
BEAT 3 The Beat (2) Wha'ppen?(LP, Album) Go-Feet Records BEAT 3 UK 1981 Sell This Version
25RS-132 The Beat (2) Wha'ppen?(LP, Album) Go-Feet Records 25RS-132 Japan 1981 Sell This Version
203 701 The Beat (2) Wha'ppen?(LP, Album) Arista, Go-Feet Records 203 701 Germany 1981 Sell This Version
XSR 3567 The English Beat* Wha'ppen(LP, Album) Sire XSR 3567 Canada 1981 Sell This Version
203.701 The Beat (2) Wha'ppen?(LP) Ariola Benelux 203.701 Netherlands 1981 Sell This Version



Add Review



June 28, 2012

I'd like to give this closer to 3.5 out of 5. It's not a bad album by any means, but it just doesn't live up to the tremendous standard set by their debut and their final LP, "Special Beat Service." This sophomore LP suffers a bit from lesser songwriting; "I Am Your Flag" could be a Haircut 100 outtake with overly earnest lyrics. The main problem, however, is the unsympathetic production. On "Monkey Murders," secret weapon Saxa sounds like he's playing from the room next door, with unwise compensation in the form of excessive reverb. Much of the album shares the same fate as the clarity and tightness of the band are diluted by unnecessary reverb. While it's still essential for fans of this fantastic band, I'd be shocked if anyone named this as their favorite. If you're new to the Beat, go for the debut first.