The Beatles ‎– Beatles '65

Capitol Records ‎– ST 2228, Capitol Records ‎– ST-2228
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 No Reply 2:15
A2 I'm A Loser 2:31
A3 Baby's In Black 2:02
A4 Rock And Roll Music
Written-By – Chuck Berry
A5 I'll Follow The Sun 1:46
A6 Mr. Moonlight
Written-By – Johnson*
B1 Honey Don't
Written-By – Carl Perkins
B2 I'll Be Back 2:22
B3 She's A Woman 2:57
B4 I Feel Fine 2:20
B5 Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
Written-By – Carl Perkins

Companies, etc.



Black rainbow colorband label without "subsidiary" rim print.
First West Coast pressing of this album, with the letters in the word 'stereo' tightly spaced on label. (Source: Price Guide for the Beatles American Records, 6th Edition - Perry Cox and Frank Daniels.)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BMI
  • Matrix / Runout (Label A): ST-X-1-2228
  • Matrix / Runout (Label B): ST-X-2-2228
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A): ST-1-2228-B-8
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B): ST-2-2228-B-8
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant runout A): ST-1-2228-B-10 ' (2 and ✲ stamped)
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant runout B): ST-2-2228-B-8 ' (\ and ✲ stamped)
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 runout A): ST-1-2228-B-10
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2 runout B): ST-2-2228-A-7

Other Versions (5 of 93) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
T 2228, T-2228 The Beatles Beatles '65(LP, Album, Mono, Pin) Capitol Records, Capitol Records T 2228, T-2228 US 1964 Sell This Version
4XT-2228 The Beatles Beatles '65(Cass, Album, RE, Bla) Capitol Records 4XT-2228 Canada Unknown Sell This Version
SMO 83 917, SMO 73 917 The Beatles Beatles '65(LP, Album) Odeon, Odeon SMO 83 917, SMO 73 917 Germany 1965 Sell This Version
T-2228, T 2228 The Beatles Beatles '65(LP, Album, Mono) Capitol Records, Capitol Records T-2228, T 2228 US 1964 Sell This Version
ST 2228, ST-2228 The Beatles Beatles '65(LP, Album, RP, Pur) Capitol Records, Capitol Records ST 2228, ST-2228 US 1978 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



July 27, 2015
Why, if this is a "Black rainbow colorband label without "subsidiary" rim print.", is the picture then of a purple label? Hmmm??


April 14, 2012

Although one of the american 'hybrid' albums for the Beatles, this is a solid album. John Lennon is in fine form here, offering his classic "I'm a Loser", the interesting guitar feedback opening to "I Feel Fine" and his spirited version of Chuck Berry's "Rock and Roll Music". McCartney's much underrated "I'll Follow the Sun" is here, along with the bluesy "She's a Woman" (which features one of Paul's dumbest lyrics, but who cares?). The strange minor to major back to minor chording on "I'll Be Back' remains haunting, and "No Reply" is solid pop music.

One of the best 'Ringo' tunes opens side two. "Honey Don't" strays none too far from the Perkins' original, which is a good thing. The only weak cuts are "Mr. Moonlight" and "Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby". Although Lennon gives a passionate vocal performance to 'Moonlight', there is no light shed on this hopelessly dated tune. Harrison's weak voice just doesn't carry "Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby". McCartney could have belted this one out. "Baby's in Black" is probably not anyone's favorite Beatle tune, but I've always enjoyed the song. Must be the harmonies in the break. Not a bad collection considering it is your typical Capitol eleven song Beatles' lp.