The Beatles ‎– The Decca Audition

Parlophone (2) ‎– TOCP-6211
CD, Unofficial Release, Vinyl Replica


1 Like Dreamers Do 2:41
2 Money (That's What I Want) 2:26
3 To Know Her Is To Love Her 2:38
4 Memphis Tennesse 2:23
5 Till There Was You 3:02
6 Sure To Fall (In Love With You) 2:04
7 Besame Mucho 2:42
8 Love Of The Loved 1:54
9 Hello Little Girl 1:43
10 Three Cool Cats 2:28
11 September In The Rain 1:58
12 Take Good Care Of My Baby 2:29
13 Crying, Waiting, Hoping 2:06
14 The Sheik Of Araby 1:45
15 Searchin' 3:06


The Beatles performed fifteen songs that were recorded at their audition for Decca Records on 1 January 1962 (three Lennon/McCartney compositions and twelve cover versions). Five of the songs were included on Anthology 1.

Fourteen of the fifteen tracks appeared on a series of coloured vinyl singles with picture sleeves, released in 1978 on the Deccagone label through Strawberry Fields Forever, Joe Pope's fanzine. The following year, all fifteen tracks appeared on the Circuit Records bootleg album The Decca Tapes.

Due to the questionable copyright status of these performances (recorded prior to the group's EMI contract), the Decca audition was commercially distributed in various configurations starting in 1981; some of these "grey market" albums omitted the three Lennon/McCartney songs.[18] By the late 1980s, legal action by The Beatles had halted commercial availability of the albums.[19] In addition to continued inclusion on bootlegs, a small U.S. record label issued the songs on CD through mail order in 2007 as The Lost Decca Sessions, which it described as legal and licensed.

Other Versions (5 of 46) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
AR 30003, AR 30 003 Silver Beatles* Silver Beatles(LP) All Round Trading, All Round Trading AR 30003, AR 30 003 Denmark 1982 Sell This Version
LK 4438-1 The Beatles The Decca Tapes(LP, Album, Mono, Pic, Unofficial) Circuit Records (3) LK 4438-1 UK 1979 Sell This Version
PULS 005 Beatles* The Decca Tapes(CD, Unofficial) Pulsar PULS 005 Netherlands 1991 Sell This Version
ARDKS 2116 Silver Beatles* The Complete Silver Beatles(Cass, Comp) Moondisc ARDKS 2116 Sweden 1982 Sell This Version
YD 011 The Silver Beatles* The Original Decca Tapes & Cavern Club Rehearsals(CD, Mono, Unofficial) Yellow Dog Records (2) YD 011 Luxembourg 1991 Sell This Version