The Beatles ‎– The Legendary 22-9-69 'Get Back' Radio Broadcast

The Godfatherecords ‎– G.R. 412
CD, Unofficial Release


1 Unknown Artist DJ Intro 0:22
2 The Beatles Let It Be (Incomplete) 0:51
3 Unknown Artist WBCN Station ID / Chess King Ad / DJ Monologue 0:59
4 The Beatles Let It Be 4:05
5 The Beatles Don't Let Me Down 3:54
6 The Beatles For You Blue 3:06
7 The Beatles Get Back 2:57
8 The Beatles The Walk 1:00
9 Unknown Artist DJ Monologue / Arlo Guthrie Concert Ad 2:46
10 Harry Zonk Hey Jude Tap 1:41
11 The Beatles Golden Slumbers / Carry That Weight / The End 5:20
12 Unknown Artist DJ Monologue / "Alice's Restaurant" Ad 1:50
13 Unknown Artist Get Back Honk 0:51
14 The Beatles Get Back 2:40
15 The Beatles I've Got A Feeling (Fragment) 0:12
16 The Beatles Teddy Boy 5:54
17 The Beatles Two Of Us 3:57
18 The Beatles Dig A Pony 4:07
19 Unknown Artist DJ Monologue 0:39
20 The Plastic Ono Band / The Beatles Medley: Give Peace A Chance / Ballad Of John & Yoko 3:15
21 Unknown Artist Poor Hungry Hillbilly White Boy 0:51
22 The Beatles Carry That Weight / The End 3:41
23 The Child The Child Ad 0:59
24 The Beatles Mean Mr. Mustard / Polythene Pam / She Came In Through The Bathroom Window 4:16
25 The Beatles I've Got A Feeling 3:06
26 The Beatles The Long And Winding Road 3:41
27 The Beatles Here Comes The Sun 1:02

Companies, etc.



The Legendary 'Get Back' radio broadcast, WBCN FM Boston, September 22, 1969 booklet text by Ed Nein states: "According to Beatle folklore, promotion copies of their unreleased 1969 GET BACK LP were distributed to radio stations in the United States.

In fact, NO promotional copies of the album were issued, although many radio stations aired tapes which were in circulation at the time. Some stations (such as WBKW in buffalo, and WEBN in Cincinnatti) aired an undocumented mix of GET BACK (available only on an obscure bootleg entitled O.P.D.), which mmirrors the final track listing of the LP, as documented in THE BEATLES: RECORDING SESSIONS.

A second source for the GET BACK material was a reference acetate prepared by Beatles producer Glyn Johns on March 10, 1969. This was also aired by a number of American stations, including WBAI in New York, KCOK AM in St. Louis, and WBCN in Boston (which is our source here).

This tape is significantly different from the "final" mix, which is widely available on various illicit records. It's noticeably less processed than the other both in terms of editing and the use of reverb. It also includes an extra performance of "Get Back" and a cover of Jimmy McCracklin's "The Walk".

What's noticeable here, though, is that this is far and away the best sounding tape of this material you're ever likely to hear.
WBCN obtained a reel-to-reel tape of the actual reference acetates. Their broadcast was preserved on another high-quality reel, and a digital copy of that tape was used to master this LP.
We've also elected to leave in most of the actual commercials and announcements from the WBCN DJ. This provides a charming framework, and sadly, reminds us of how much radio has changed. This is an artifact of an era that won't come again. Enjoy it!"
The sound quality is stunning and the listening experience is significantly enhanced as this reference acetate is presented in the context of a "live" FM radio broadcast.
I have always, hands down, taken a preference to these recorded performances over any of the "final" studio pressings and/ or releases.
The Beatles literally breathed life into these sessions as opposed to sounding more "limited" with the final finished product for public consumption.

This WBCN-FM Boston 9-22-1969 'Get Back' Radio Broadcast includes "an obviously-excited DJ who warns listeners taping his program that Apple may sending them a telegram ordering them to not listen to the unreleased music"...

Audacious Ensconce

CD comes in a three-folded cardboard sleeve with additional four-sided booklet and two-sided mini-poster.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Fake): 10072009412

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All