Belle & Sebastian ‎– How To Solve Our Human Problems

Matador ‎– OLE-1123-1, Matador ‎– OLE-xxxxxxxx, Matador ‎– OLE-1194-1, Matador ‎– OLE-1195-1, Matador ‎– OLE-1196-1
Box Set, Compilation, Limited Edition
Vinyl, 12", EP
Vinyl, 12", EP
Vinyl, 12", EP

Tracklist Hide Credits

Part One
A1 Sweet Dew Lee
Mixed By – Emily MacLaren, Stuart Evans (2)Producer – Belle & Sebastian, Emily MacLaren, Stuart Evans (2)
A2 We Were Beautiful
Drum Programming, Keyboards – Brian McNeillEngineer, Mixed By – Brian McNeillPedal Steel Guitar, Bass – Dave McGowanProducer – Belle & Sebastian, Brian McNeillTrumpet – Robert Henderson
B1 Fickle Season
Engineer – Emily MacLaren, Stuart Evans (2)Guitar, Synth – Leo AbrahamsMixed By – Kristofer HarrisPercussion – Emily MacLaren
B2 The Girl Doesn't Get It
Bass – Dave McGowanClavinet, Electric Piano – Brian McNeillEngineer – Brian McNeillProducer – Belle & Sebastian, Brian McNeill
B3 Everything Is Now
Bass – Dave McGowanMixed By, Engineer – Paul SavageProducer – Belle & Sebastian, Paul Savage
Part Two
C1 Show Me The Sun
Bass – Dave McGowanEngineer – Kevin Burleigh, Ronan FayMixed By – Kevin BurleighProducer – InfloVocals, Synthesizer – Inflo
C2 The Same Star
Bass Guitar – Dave McGowanMixed By – Kristofer HarrisProducer – Leo AbrahamsSynthesizer [ms20] – Leo AbrahamsTrumpet – Robert Henderson
C3 I'll Be Your Pilot
Bass, Percussion – Dave McGowanEngineer – Brian McNeillOboe – William MoriconiProducer – Belle & Sebastian, Brian McNeill
D1 Cornflakes
Bass – Dave McGowanEngineer – Emily MacLaren, Stuart Evans (2)Mixed By – Stuart Evans (2)Producer – Belle & Sebastian, Emily MacLaren, Stuart Evans (2)
D2 A Plague On Other Boys
Engineer – Kevin BurleighEngineer [Assistant] – Ronan FayGuitar – Dave McGowanMixed By – Kristofer HarrisOboe – William MoriconiProducer – Leo AbrahamsSounds [Effects] – Leo AbrahamsTrumpet – Robert Henderson
Part Three
E1 Poor Boy
Bass – Dave McGowanMixed By – Tony DooganProducer – Belle & Sebastian, InfloVocals, Percussion, Synth – Inflo
E2 Everything Is Now (Part Two)
Bass – Dave McGowanEngineer, Mixed By – Paul SavageFrench Horn – Sarah PerbixGlockenspiel, Vibraphone – Zach Miller (5)Producer – Belle & Sebastian, Paul SavageStrings – The Laurels String Quartet
F1 Too Many Tears
Bass Guitar – Dave McGowanFlute, Tenor Saxophone – Mark Henderson (3)French Horn – Sarah PerbixGlockenspiel – Andy Thompson (2)Mixed By – Brian McNeillProducer – Belle & Sebastian, Brian McNeillTrumpet – Cameron Kinghorn, Robert HendersonVocals – Anna Miles, Celia Carcia, Therese Martin
F2 There Is An Everlasting Song
Engineer – Brian McNeillProducer – Belle & Sebastian, Brian McNeill
F3 Best Friend
Bass – Dave McGowanFrench Horn – Sarah PerbixGlockenspiel – Andy Thompson (2)Mixed By – Brian McNeillOboe, Tenor Saxophone – Mark Henderson (3)Producer – Belle & Sebastian, Brian McNeillStrings – The Laurels String QuartetTrumpet – Cameron KinghornVocals – Carla EastonWritten-By [additionally] – Carla Easton

Companies, etc.



The catalog number OLE-1123-1 only appears on the sticker on the shrink wrap. The catalog number OLE-xxxxxxxx appears on the rear of the box. The other 3 catalog numbers appear on the sleeves of the EPs; OLE-1194-1 on part 1, OLE-1195-1 on part 2 and OLE-1196-1 on part 3.

℗ 2017 Matador Records. © 2017 Matador Records.

Copies sold by Monorail Music in Glasgow, Scotland came with a signed postcard set. There are 100 copies of the postcards split between the vinyl boxed set and CD versions. The ratio in which they were divided up is not known.

Comes with an exclusive poster and 3 download codes; one for each EP. The centre labels of part 2 are on the wrong sides of the disc.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Sticker on shrink wrap): 7 44861 11231 0
  • Barcode (Part 1, scanned): 744861119418
  • Barcode (Part 2, scanned): 744861119517
  • Barcode (Part 3, scanned): 744861119616
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, etched): BH97524-01 A2 OLE-11941 F.A. [11] [mirrored]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, etched): BH97524-01 B2 OLE-11941 v[1] [mirrored]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, etched): BH98346-01 A1 v= OLE-11951
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, etched): BH98346-01 B1 FA. OLE-11951 vv
  • Matrix / Runout (Side E, etched): BH98305-01 A1 =[1] [mirrored] FA. OLE-11961
  • Matrix / Runout (Side F, etched): BH98305-01 B1 ^[1] [mirrored] OLE-11961


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



May 14, 2020
I wish the discs had been 7.” It’s kind of wasteful to put it in 12 inch discs. Would have looked better too.


July 4, 2019
edited about 1 year ago
I was wondering if "How to solve..." should actually be listed as a compilation. I believe it was thought of as an album, but released in three 12'' EPs over the period of 3 months, to celebrate the vinyl format. And after the release of the final EP, it was offered as a box containing all 3 EPs and for the first time on CD containing all 3 EPs, which by the way were not issued separately on CD. So it is my strong belief that this should lose the compilation description and be moved to the album section. What do you think? I know it sounds trivial and technically it could be considered a compilation, but it is not so. It is not like the Lazy Line or Push Barman ones, which contain previous EPs that were not intended to be released together but as an afterthought. The particular release was announced as a regular album which would be released in 3 EPs over the period of 3 months, but eventually would appear as a box set and CD.