Beneath (3) ‎– Illusions EP

Keysound Recordings ‎– LDN034
2 × Vinyl, 12", EP

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Beneath (3) Prangin'
B1 Beneath (3) Blonde
B2 Beneath (3) Wonz
C1 Beneath (3) Illusion
D1 Beneath (3) Tribulation
D2 Balistiq Beats* Concrete Jungle (Yardman Riddim) (Beneath's 350 Remix)
Featuring – Jamakabi*Remix – Beneath (3)

Companies, etc.



Side B label:
"this music come from the heart/it's a genetic transmission..."

All tracks produced by Beneath. Side A keysights by Elliot Holbrow. Side B keysights by Shaun Bloodworth.

Side D label:
"and they're trying to let people live a life of illusion..."

All tracks produced by Beneath. All keysights by Elliot Holbrow. © Keysound Recordings 2012. Distributed worldwide by Cargo.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 55300 368782
  • Barcode (String): 555300368782
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Groove Etching): LDN 034A TRANSITION BC 88636-01 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Groove Etching): LDN 034 B TRANSITION BC 88636-01 B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C Groove Etching): LDN034 C TRANSITION BC 88636-02 C1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D Groove Etching): LDN034D TRANSITION BC 88636 -02 D1
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5055300368782


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



August 24, 2018

absolute timeless release

wonz and tributlation both so so good , perfectly summed up 2012


July 24, 2015
edited over 5 years ago

I keep returning to this EP: minimalist, deep, dark, smoky sub-rattling tunes heavily indebted to the earliest dub-step releases. Most tracks include a deft use of obscure samples and chilling little melodies weaving in and out of lithe UK funky drum patterns, with all three elements perfectly balancing out the thick bassline murk.

Beneath's work has got somewhat more complex and his sound has definitely broadened since this release, you can hear real progression in his skills as a producer but the tunes on this first EP seem given over to a purity of vision deftly executed making for timeless UK club music, no frills inner-city bangers.

I think all Beneath's records are great, but the spliff induced paranoia, minimalist arrangement, rolling sub-bass and all out tribal mayhem contained on these two pieces of vinyl make this EP one of my personal favourites.

Future classic gets bandied about a lot, but I think the tunes from this EP will be ones that keep cropping up in sets again and again over the coming years... Prangin', Blonde, Wonz, Illusion, Tribulation all massive late night tunage suitable for deployment in a myriad of sets and situations.


October 30, 2014

Lean, slick claustrophobia from London. Excellent deviation and continuation of the UK dance underground's rich tapestry . My favourite Beneath release.