Benjamin Brunn ‎– Colour Tracks

Colour Tracks ‎– none
4 × Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, Album, Picture Disc
Box Set


A1 Techno 5:46
A2 Disco House 5:27
B1 Deep House 5:52
B2 Electro 8:12
C1 Techno 5:52
C2 Ambient 6:38
C3 Minimal 3:45
D1 Ambient 3:52
D2 Deep House 7:31
D3 Ambient 3:25
E1 Chicago House 5:40
F1 Lyrics 1:44
F2 Deep House 5:41
F3 Chicago House 4:34
F4 Lyrics 1:33
G1 IDM 3:18
G2 Chicago House 8:30
H1 Acid 3:03
H2 Acid 6:35



"Benjamin Brunn's new Colour Tracks is a complex construction; it's a 19-track journey through 35 years of electronic music—a massive undertaking in itself—arranged across four 12-inch picture discs according to a color visualization of the genre and the length of the individual track. We've got acid (forest green), electro (purple), Chicago house (pink) and techno (orange) organized by speed and tempo. Each track was meticulously crafted to suit the vinyl medium—each color strip is as wide as the track is long.

With over a decade of experience as a producer, Brunn proves his knowledge about the complexities of each style. "B1 - Deep House" recalls the thumping techno and Chicago and Detroit house he absorbed as a teenager at the VOXXX club in Chemnitz. "C2 - Ambient" is gentle and meandering, in accordance with Brian Eno's theory that ambient music should be "as ignorable as it is interesting." Andy Warhol says "yes" and "no" on loop in defiance of an interviewer's unimaginative questions on "F1 - Lyrics." "G1 - IDM" surveys the mind-bending sounds that emerged with Warp's landmark Artificial Intelligence series and continue to influence beatmakers worldwide.

Design is also a huge part of why this project is so compelling. Created by German firm KOREFE—the same people who produced the world's first edible cookbook—the Colour Tracks package comes with a stunning 13-page booklet containing a handy colour chart, a neat interview with Brunn about his early experiments and theory of techno as both a tool and a toy, and blurbs explaining each track (genre, tempo, how it was made). Even for those less geeky about production, Color Tracks is still a fascinating audio-visual trip through the vast expanses of electronic music."

TRACK G2: This recording gave Philogresz's 'Bluesin with an old Wise' (Ware Records, 2010) a twist of Chicago house and made it sound old school.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4260182510513


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 22, 2017
What an incredibly amazing concept,
I wonder if other artists would be permitted to implement this schema?



August 30, 2013
edited over 5 years ago
Maybe the best packaging I have ever seen, very cool the whole idea behind this. Destined to become a rare collectors item for sure.