Big Star ‎– Complete Third - Vol. 2: Roughs To Mixes

Omnivore Recordings ‎– OVLP 202, Omnivore Recordings ‎– 816651014217
2 × Vinyl, LP


A1 Big Black Car (Dickinson Rough Mix / Alex Guide Vocal)
A2 Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On (Dickinson Rough Mix)
A3 Take Care (Dickinson Rough Mix)
A4 Holocaust (Dickinson Rough Mix)
A5 Nightime (Dickinson Rough Mix)
A6 Thank You Friends (Dickinson Rough Mix)
B1 Nature Boy (Dickinson Rough Mix)
B2 After Hours
B3 Stroke It Noel (Backwards Intro)
B4 Lovely Day (Fry Rough Mix)
B5 Nightime (Fry Rough Mix)
B6 Blue Moon (Fry Rough Mix)
B7 Till The End Of The Day (Alternate Mix #1)
B8 Big Black Car (Fry Rough Mix)
C1 Holocaust (Fry Alternate/Rough Mix)
C2 Downs (Fry Rough Mix)
C3 Kanga Roo (Fry Rough Mix)
C4 Femme Fatale (Fry Rough Mix)
C5 For You (Alternate Version/Alex Vocal)
D1 Thank You Friends (Fry Rough Mix)
D2 Take Care (Fry Rough Mix)
D3 Kizza Me (Fry Rough Mix)
D4 Till The End Of The Day (Fry Rough Mix #2)
D5 Nature Boy (Fry Rough Mix)
D6 Mañana

Companies, etc.



Jim Dickinson's & John Fry's Rough Mixes
Almost All Tracks Appearing on Vinyl for the First Time!
Download Card Included

Barcode on Sticker

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 816651014217
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched A): S-98802 OVLP-202 816651014217 SIDE A -CKJ-
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched B): S-98802 OVLP-202 816651014217 SIDE B -CKJ-
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched C): S-98804 OVLP-202 816651014217 SIDE C -CKJ-
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched D): S-98805 OVLP-202 816651014217 SIDE A -CKJ-


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



February 14, 2019
Terrible pressing! Such a shame, as the music is great. Lots of light scuffs and scratches despite being "new." Couldn't justify keeping it since it sounds better on YouTube. So much sibilance, sounds like they're hissing at me. Returned.


November 16, 2017
Such a treasure! Great sounding versions of what would become an iconic album. All three volumes of these Third records are a must-have for fans of Big Star. To me, this second volume is perhaps the most interesting as it gives the two rough mixes done by Dickinson and Fry respectively. The final versions on Vol 3 are fantastic, but there's real energy here! My discs sound very good too!