Bill Fay ‎– Life Is People

Dead Oceans ‎– DOC061
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 There Is A Valley 4:16
A2 Big Painter 3:59
A3 The Never Ending Happening 3:44
B1 This World
Vocals [Vocal] – Jeff Tweedy
B2 The Healing Day 5:14
B3 City Of Dreams 6:11
C1 Be At Peace With Yourself 5:01
C2 Jesus, Etc.
Words By, Music By – Jay Bennett, Jeff Tweedy
C3 Empires 3:23
D1 Thank You Lord 3:14
D2 Cosmic Concerto (Life Is People) 7:56
D3 The Coast No Man Can Tell 3:07

Companies, etc.



Issued in gatefold sleeve with printed lyrics inner sleeves and download code.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 6 56605 13611 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout etched): DOC - 061 A BONATI MASTERING NYC
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout etched): DOC - 061 B BONATI MASTERING NYC
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout etched): DOC - 061 C BONATI MASTERING NYC
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout etched): DOC - 061 D BONATI MASTERING NYC

Other Versions (4 of 4) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
DOC061 Bill Fay Life Is People(CD, Album) Dead Oceans DOC061 US 2012 Sell This Version
DOC061 Bill Fay Life Is People(CD, Album, Promo) Dead Oceans DOC061 US 2012 Sell This Version
none Bill Fay Life Is People(CDr, Album, Promo) Dead Oceans none US 2012 Sell This Version
DOC061 Bill Fay Life Is People(12xFile, Album, MP3) Dead Oceans DOC061 US 2012


Reviews Show All 8 Reviews

Add Review



September 11, 2017
Had two sealed copies and they both sounded terrible on every side.


June 5, 2016
edited about 1 year ago
I agree - the label should really have not released this. It seems many people are having the same issue with noise on this vinyl pressing. It can't be a coincidence. It would seem the label either didn't bother with test pressings, or didn't care when they heard noise. Totally bizarre - for a label to spend all that time and effort, only to give the OK for a poor quality pressing. Such a waste of time and incredible talent. Its great music too which makes it even more painful.. Hopefully they will release it properly someday.


May 15, 2016
A side of my copy is shhhhhhiiiing. First time I see this. Avoid.


December 10, 2014

This is sadly the noisiest new record I have ever purchased. Avoid.