Black Eyed Peas ‎– Bridging The Gap

Interscope Records ‎– 490 661-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 BEP Empire 4:39
2 Weekends
Featuring – Esthero
3 Get Original
Featuring – Chali2na*
4 Hot
Featuring – Kim Hill
5 Cali To New York
Featuring – De La Soul
6 Lil' Lil'
Featuring – Kim Hill
7 On My Own
Featuring – Les Nubian*, Mos Def
8 Release 5:07
9 Bridging The Gaps
Vocals – Kim Hill
10 Go Go 4:53
11 Rap Song
Featuring – Wyclef JeanVocals – Kim Hill
12 Bringing It Back 3:36
13 Tell Your Mama Come
Vocals – Kim Hill
14a Request + Line
Featuring – Macy GrayVocals – Kim Hill
14b Empire Strikes Back 4:29

Companies, etc.



Track 14 lasts 9:21 in total with a one minute pause before the hidden track

Made in the EU.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 06949 06612 3
  • Barcode (String): 606949066123
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 4): 06069 490 661-2 02 / 51063471
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2, 3): 06069 490 661-2 01 + 51063471
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner Ring, Variant 1, 2): MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner Ring, Variant 3, 4): MADE IN GERMANY BY UNIVERSAL M & L B
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 4): IFPI L001
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 2, 3): IFPI L002
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0145
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0132
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0131
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0142
  • Label Code: LC 06406
  • Rights Society: BIEM/MCPS

Other Versions (5 of 20) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
069490661-2 Black Eyed Peas Bridging The Gap(CD, Album) Interscope Records 069490661-2 US 2000 Sell This Version
490 661-2 Black Eyed Peas Bridging The Gap(CD, Album) Interscope Records, Universal 490 661-2 Ukraine 2004 Sell This Version
069490661-4 Black Eyed Peas Bridging The Gap(Cass, Album) Interscope Records 069490661-4 US 2000 Sell This Version
490 781-2 Black Eyed Peas Bridging The Gap(CD, Album) Interscope Records 490 781-2 UK 2000 Sell This Version
490 661-1 Black Eyed Peas Bridging The Gap(2xLP, Album) Interscope Records 490 661-1 Europe 2000 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



December 6, 2009
The truth about these guys is they have already had a commercial sound since Bridging The Gap. (Refer to Rap Song, Request + Line). I believe both of these songs were used on commercials during their debut. As far as their musical direction goes, BEP evolved. The music on Bridging The Gap was already pop-ish and party friendly. If you really look and listen, they just continued with their already existent sound. There new music is still "Hip Hop" or "Hip Pop" which it was with Bridging The Gap.
Music is art done by people. People evolve to what they enjoy or are feeling at the moment. Granted there is a lot of money where they are musically at now, but if you notice no member of the group has left. They have only added a member. So to them they haven't fallen off too far. I believe they enjoy what they're doing. They evolved. Enjoy.. It's Fergalcious!

Definitely check out this album. It's a lot of fun.


May 11, 2009
Because it's a favourite album of mine I've tried to write a review for this album now several times... but I Just can't. I can't put into words what a tragedy this album is. Not because it's no good, because it's amazing. This album is a tragedy because when you listen to it and compare it to the junk the BEPs churn out today, it shows just how much they fell off. How far they've fallen and sold out. Their new stuff in the charts is so, so bad, and this is so, so good - the mind boggles at what happened to lead them astray so badly to where they are today?
Look I'm not gonna go into it - I'll just say that the BEPs of today are commercial rap rubbish, but the BEPs of yesteryear (and this album in particular), were awesome. For some reason Yoko Ono springs to mind... Fergie has a lot to answer for.
When all's said and done though you should still grab a copy of this. It really is too good to pass up. Bridging the gap mixes Latin and calypso flavours, and classic boom bap hip hop with ease not to mention to great effect. But when you put this album on and listen to them spit ''money is a drug and MCs is on it'' the word 'ironic' doesn't even come close. It's just a shame they couldn't take their own advice.
Curse you Black Eyed Peas... This album is genius and hints at the music you could have made and what you could have been: amongst the greatest of all time. I loved you for this album, and now look, or should that be listen, to what you've become.