Blind Idiot God ‎– Cyclotron

Avant ‎– AVAN 010
CD, Album


1 747 4:16
2 Slackjaw 4:51
3 Ground Lift 4:01
4 Thunderhead 4:39
5 Head On 3:53
6 Hangtime 4:58
7 Cloudcover 2:42
8 Cold Start 5:01
9 Death Hollow Canyon, Utah 6:37
10 Easing Back 2:45
11 Broadside 3:23
12 Dead Continent Dub 4:35

Companies, etc.



Recorded at B.C. Studios Brooklyn, NY and Greenpoint Studios Brooklyn, NY
Mixed at the Hit Factory for High Velocity

Above and beyond the call: Bill Laswell, John Zorn, Alex Winter, Alyson Mead, Mike Sandler, Phoebe Love and Harry Kolbe

This album is dedicated to the memory of Miles A. Rutlin 1966-1992

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: JASRAC
  • Matrix / Runout: AVAN-010 MT 1B1 ++
  • Other (JASRAC license number): R-2B0136
  • Barcode (on obi): 4 988044 900103
  • Matrix / Runout (variant 2 / mirrored): AVAN-010


Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



November 6, 2015
Thunderhead is the most intense song ever written by anyone in the history of modern music.


September 21, 2011
Great. I much prefer the heavy tracks on this album than the old stuff. The guitar on Slackjaw is amazing, and the tone is perfect. The Major dub track is a bit sickly but the other dub is up there with the best, especially Hangtime. Don't expect anything Naked City like, i don't know what that guy is quite saying. It's mainly just heavy rock and dub, but it is not really all over the place genre splicing like Zorn's work. Brilliant album thought, get it if you can find a copy!


January 27, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

How is it possible to combine metal, experimental music and dub in one album ? Few bands can take so many styles, mix them and get decent results. BIG final record is exactly that - melting pot of styles, rhythms and atmospheres. "Cyclotron" starts out with extremely fast "747" and reaches its conclusion with slow and echoing "Dead Continent Dub". One comparison might be John Zorn's Naked City (and its no coincidence - since this guys were working with Zorn a lot). But whereas Naked City was about in-your-face experimentation and extremely short songs, Blind Idiot God have more song-like approach and this trio also have great musical skills, all of which are shown on "Cyclotron".